Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Yep, you definitely need to keep an eye on this while it's cooking, and add liquid when it gets dries out (I used chicken broth). I cut back on the pepper flakes since I was making it to go with the already-spicy Yogurt-Marinated Salmon Fillets (Dahi Machhali Masaledar) from this site. I also omitted the tumeric as mine has been in the cupboard too long and has got kinda sour. Next time I'll use peas insetad of carrots (we didnt really care for the taste). Not bad though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe was very tastey, but definitely did require some extra cooking and moisture for the carrots and potatoes. I also added garbanzo beans and garlic, and everybody, myself, my 2 year old, and my husband, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
very tasty, but yes, water is needed pour a little at a time, as it will cook into the veggies quickly served over quinoa, which is a little healthier recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Even when I took others' advice and added two cups of water and peas and yogurt this still ended up as a fairly bland curry. Perhaps that's because of a lack of decent curry powder but even so, not the greatest curry recipe. My search continues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Yum. I did boil the cauliflower and potatoes while I sauteed the onion and carrot. I also added frozen peas as suggested. I enjoyed this dish more the second day after the flavors had time to sit over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is a pretty good quick curry recipe. It's definitely a lighter version than with the coconut milk. I did add about 2 cups of veggie broth and some arrowroot powder (about 1.5 tsp) to thicken the sauce up a bit. Very yummy and not much left for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Agree this is a great starter recipe with so many possible variations. Some type of liquid is definitely needed in order to simmer the vegetables. Liked the suggestions of tomato paste and creme fraiche. I substituted thick chunks of yellow squash for the potatoes but may use potatoes another time. Didn't realize I had no turmeric on hand until I had the preparation well underway. I omitted the salt(because I used chicken broth)and pepper(reviewer's tip)and even with these omissions we thought it was very good. Since I didn't use potatoes I didn't see the need to pre-cook the vegetables so my cooking time was still only about 20-25 minutes. Glad I saw this recipe and thanks for the previous reviews - will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I added pumpkin to this, it was so delicious and really easy to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
we added broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
this is a very good starter recipe! It easily accepts substitution of whatever vegetables you happen to have on hand. I used fresh instead of frozen. I added nutritional yeast for a thickening (didn't have tomato paste on hand) and red pepper flakes to spice it up. I agree with the many before me, if you like a lot of "kick" add more curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States