Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
very quick and easy, i used this recipe as a starter and then added my own touches. i used a commercial curry mix found in any good indian grocery store, plus some chickpea flour (besan) and coconut milk. i didn't have cauliflower so i used red peppers. fry they taters and carrots first then add the onions and peppers, etc. mix in the flour paste and coconut milk last. the possiblities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry Mccollum

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I made this for my husband and he said it was really good!! Iused different vegis as to what I had on hand and I don't have turmeric. Let me tell you- whatever i threw in there smelled really good and I never had to add liquid> That surprised me tremendously!! I used some really OLD potatoes and my hubby said the pots. did not taste good with this. Fresh ones could have made a difference. I will make this again for hubby!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I eliminated the butter, salt, and black pepper. I didn't have carrots or turmeric, but would have used them otherwise. As other reviewers suggested, I added some chicken stock while simmering and peas at the end. Curry is always great with plain lowfat yogurt to tame the spiciness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lindy
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I too cooked the vegetables in advance, and added some chicken broth, but it was still very dry. Tasty, but dry. Next time, I'll try adding a) more liquid, and b) some tomato sauce perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Excellent recipe to add to my curry collection. I took the advice of some of the reviewers and added a cup of chicken broth, as well as using all canola oil instead of the butter/olive oil combo. Although I usually use all fresh ingredients, I like canned potatoes for a dish like this to maintain a good texture, as well as decrease the cooking time a little. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Creamier: Add a cup of water, more spices and smother it for 15min, lid over the wok. Even creamier: add milk. Btw this recipe is called "Aloo Gobi Masala" (Potatoe - Cauliflower Curry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Quite bland; it's missing many of the components of traditional Aloo Gobi (Indian Potato and Cauliflower dish.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I had to add water for the cooking process, but this is absolutely the recipe I've been trying to get from my Indian co-workers who come to work with delicious smelling dishes daily. Now my curry can stand up to theirs at the Dept. pot-luck. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Delicious! I followed the others suggestions to use chicken broth and/or water while simmering the potatoes and cauliflower. I used 1 cup broth and 1 cup water. Next time I will use 1/2 cup more of each, I would have liked just a bit more sauce. I also added a few other things for a bit more spice and flavor; 1/2 tsp. curry paste, 1/2 tsp. chili powder, 1 tsp. garlic, 1 tsp. fresh grated ginger and I did use additional curry and turmeric. Thanks very much for the recipe and the added suggestions to make the exact curry dish I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States