Vegetable Cornish Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Awesome recipe! My husband and I have made this one many, many times. We use just potatoes, onions and carrots for the veg... tastes exactly like the ones I've had in Cornwall. I always get compliments on this recipe! Note on putting them together: For a true pasty shape, cut the dough into circles and put the filling in the center, leaving lots of room all around. You need less filling than you think! Then fold the dough over the filling so you have a semi-circle. Fold the bottom dough up over the top and press your thumb in all around to create indentations and seal in the filling. This creates the thick crust that Cornish miners would hold onto when eating them (they then threw the crust away!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Great flavour - I got lazy on the following... I used ready made frozen puff pastry. I also left out the mushrooms & cheese (vegies alone give enough flavour for me). I used a food processor to grate all the vegetables together, making prep a breeze. Perfect amount for four pasties THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
Delicious! I first had Cornish Pasties in Bath, England in 1995. I've since become vegetarian, and I despaired of ever finding a veggie version. This is a little labor intensive, but produces wonderful results. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My wife made these from the recipe. Being English was a little nervous but should not have been. These were wonderful. For a twist replace the Worcester Sauce for a mix of Garam Masala and Currey Pwder dissolved in a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grays, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Too Good! I have had pasties at the famous upper peninsula in Michigan. These were delicious. I used 'mushroon turnovers' recipe from the site for the crust. Extraordinary really. Oh, I did add some smoked chile tomato sauce in the veges instead of yeast extract and a wee bit of oregano. This tasted very good. The crust is out of the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was very good -- much better than the simple ingredients might suggest. It is a very hearty vegetarian meal -- my husband was convinced there was meat in them until I told him otherwise. I omitted the yeast extract spread (didn't have any) and forgot the egg wash at the end. I think this recipe would be pretty forgiving in terms of root veggie substitutions -- I didn't measure or count, just scooped a good handful of carrots, turnips, and potatoes. I think the filling would also be excellent done in a bread crust like a calzone. Thanks! Great recipe to use up all the root veggies I got from my CSA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esprasad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I used pastry for double-pie crust from this site. Left out mushrooms,turnip,cheese due to family preferences. Added some chopped zucchini.May consider peas next time Used a boullion cube in lieu of Marmite.Made 8 pastries-my picky eaters gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Very good recipe. My mother uses an old recipe from England for the pastry. It's called "ruff/rough puff." I used that because I prefer it to standard pie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
My husband and I really love this recipe and I find myself making it at least once a month. I like to use golden turnips (rutabagas) instead of the white ones, and I substitute a can of peas for the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Mmmm..... Sadly, my turnip had seen better days when I made this, so I left it out, and added a bit more carrot and potato. I think as long as you make the sauce, the filling is flexible. Um... yeah I also didn't actually make a pasty. I wasn't feeling all that motivated, so I made the filling and ate it with bread. But I am *certain* that it would only be better in pasty form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States