Vegetable Cornish Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My family really enjoyed these, wonderful flavor. I didn't have yeast extract spread, and I thought it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Super tasty! I didn't have very many mushrooms on hand, so I didn't use as many as called for and it would have been nice to have more. These would be made delicious with a good gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Thank you so much for this recipe! I totally cheated on the pastry, but the filling was gorgeous. I actually used flaky croissant pastry from the biscuit section which took a lot of the prep time out, and was delicious-although not totally authentic, I think it made my very American husband like it more than if I had used the traditional pastry. These freeze great- I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I didn't have the mushrooms or yeast spread, so I just omitted them. These are a great base, but next time I think I'll add some garlic or other spices. It's like a healthy Hot Pocket :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My wife made these from the recipe. Being English was a little nervous but should not have been. These were wonderful. For a twist replace the Worcester Sauce for a mix of Garam Masala and Currey Pwder dissolved in a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grays, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Mmmm..... Sadly, my turnip had seen better days when I made this, so I left it out, and added a bit more carrot and potato. I think as long as you make the sauce, the filling is flexible. Um... yeah I also didn't actually make a pasty. I wasn't feeling all that motivated, so I made the filling and ate it with bread. But I am *certain* that it would only be better in pasty form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I used pastry for double-pie crust from this site. Left out mushrooms,turnip,cheese due to family preferences. Added some chopped zucchini.May consider peas next time Used a boullion cube in lieu of Marmite.Made 8 pastries-my picky eaters gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was very good -- much better than the simple ingredients might suggest. It is a very hearty vegetarian meal -- my husband was convinced there was meat in them until I told him otherwise. I omitted the yeast extract spread (didn't have any) and forgot the egg wash at the end. I think this recipe would be pretty forgiving in terms of root veggie substitutions -- I didn't measure or count, just scooped a good handful of carrots, turnips, and potatoes. I think the filling would also be excellent done in a bread crust like a calzone. Thanks! Great recipe to use up all the root veggies I got from my CSA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esprasad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Too Good! I have had pasties at the famous upper peninsula in Michigan. These were delicious. I used 'mushroon turnovers' recipe from the site for the crust. Extraordinary really. Oh, I did add some smoked chile tomato sauce in the veges instead of yeast extract and a wee bit of oregano. This tasted very good. The crust is out of the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Very good recipe. My mother uses an old recipe from England for the pastry. It's called "ruff/rough puff." I used that because I prefer it to standard pie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States