Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Loved, loved, loved this chowder. Using others suggestion, I increased the water another cup and cut back on the cheese. I also added a can of corn which added some sweetness. Excellent and as stated by others I'm sure most any veggie would work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This soup was so good! I feel like celery does not add much, and I would have had too much left over if I'd bought the bunches my store had, so instead I just put in 2 red peppers. Confession: I definitely used WAY more than 1 C of each vegetable, I wanted a big pot of soup. I have this problem with buying vegetables in equal quantities and then realizing at home that they are like 3x what the recipe calls for. I used 3 of what my store labeled 'broccoli crowns' and only 1 cauliflower head which was kind of smallish, could've added two IMO. A medium/large onion, 2 cans of corn because I LOVE corn in soup, and 3 or 4 carrots. My fiancee requested THICK soup so I added a little more flour/milk on top of the around-3x ingredients I used and it thickened amazingly, especially the next day. HOWEVER: I did not add ANY cheese to this. I see no point. The red peppers, butter, and onions you cook at first gives this incredible, sweet aftertaste that would be totally lost with cheese IMHO. I did not triple the bouillon though and I used dried parsley instead of fresh. Never would've put broccoli and cauliflower in chowder otherwise. Thanks very much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
We loved this! I changed a few things, just based on what I had on hand. First, I sauteed the onion, bell pepper with 1/3 pound of bacon until the veggies were done and the bacon was crisp. Then I threw in carrots, celery, zucchini, summer squash, cauliflower, broccoli and mushrooms. I let that simmer for about 20 minutes then mixed in the milk/flour mixture (I used half & half). Added about 1 1/2 cups of a cheddar cheese blend. The whole thing came out fantastic! Might add corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IstyMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I gotta tell ya....yum! I have my own veggy chowder that I make often and all love, myself included!! however, this added an entire new aspect! the red pepper, the broc and caulif. just YUM! i did change the cheese up a bit and used 2 cups velvetta and one cup cheddar! its darn near perfect. thankyou so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Excellent, can literally make with whatever veggies you have on hand. An great option when you need to throw something together quickly. Leeks were great in here. Will add some frozen corn next time. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjmic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Loved this! Didn't have and chicken bouillon, so I used chicken broth instead of water. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This soup is very easy, simple, and great! For a creamy chowder soup it isn't high in fat like most others. I did make a few changes... - I used just a little bit of olive oil instead of the margarine - I added 2 extra cups of water/bouillon - I added squash, zucchini, and corn I will definitely be making this again. It was an excellent recipe for getting my little one to eat her vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was fabulous! The only changes I made were to sub fresh corn for the cauliflower, and to reduce the cheese to about 2 cups. My husband asked me to add this to our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Shoulda doubled the recipe! We loved it! I followed almost exactly but omitted the flour for a little corn starch in cold water. I think I used at least 2 cups of cheese and was very pleased. Next time Ill leave out the red pepper and maybe add some zucchini or cabbage. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love this recipe, and have made it 10 times at least. It has been a great way to get veggies into little tikes, even though they hate broccoli in every other form. I love it with the red pepper, but omit it most of the time, as it presents a texture and taste they don't go for. I also put their portions through one or two pulses in the food processor so they don't see all the chunky vegetables they are gobbling up. This recipe is very adaptive, and you can double up or omit just about any of the vegetables. I use vegetable stock instead of bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States