Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I just came back from a baby shower and made this chowder. Everyone absolutely loved it. The thick and richness of it made everyone go back for seconds. In fact, half of them took some hope with them. I'm sure glad I doubled the recipe. Thanks for not embarrassing me with a new recipe that had never been tested by me first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
You'll be lickin' your bowls clean! My meat junkie boyfriend even liked this! I omitted the margarine, broccoli and salt (the chicken bouillon has enough salt). I chopped 1/2 an onion in my 'mini prep' which released enough juices to saute it in along w/ 1T of EVOO. I added 1C of frozen corn, used 1% milk, only 1/3 cup of cheese and 1T of cornstarch in place of the flour, as it's only purpose is to thicken the soup. I also added 1t of red pepper flakes. This is my new favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
keep veggies big, they will break down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Love it. I made it with veggie bouillon and only 2 cups of cheese, and it turned out great. I think you could use even less cheese with great results. This is a good recipe for using up all of the odds and ends of vegetables in your refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This was a good recipe. The fresh parsley I would omit next time. It overpowered the dish. I realized our family isn't big on dairy, which is probably why it didn't get eaten entirely like I had hoped. Of course, this has nothing to do with the quality of the recipe. It's my family that has a persional dislike for recipes that call for too much dairy. Thank you and God Bless You for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Delicious! I used vegetable bullion to make this vegetarian and it was a big hit. I chopped the veggies up really small - but next time I think I'll leave them a bit more "chunky" for better texture. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This recipe is wonderful!! I receive compliments every time I serve it. I ommitted the parsley and it was still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This turned out really well. (I usually have bad luck w/ cream chowders.) If you are making this as 1 course of a larger meal this recipe will suffice for a small party. Double it if you are using it as a meal. Thick enough to be poured over rice or a pasta. I made this w/ 1% milk. Lowered the fat content withoout sacrificing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonneauville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
So easy to cook, yet so yummy... I actually used some frozen vegie eg: sweet corn, cos I like sweet corn. It also save some chopping times ;). I am going to get 2nd bowl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This was a great soup! It went well with french bread and was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States