Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
In my opinion I destroyed this recipe the first time I made it by mixing the cheese into the soup. At most, I suggest serving the soup with cheese sprinkled on top - I also enjoy it with no cheese at all - but there is no need to enrich the soup further by mixing in the cheese, ESPECIALLY in the quantity suggested. I love this recipe. It is easy and flexible. Don't be afraid of it if you don't think you like cauliflower, which acts to make it "potato soup-like". Do what others suggest with chicken broth. Do not overly chop up the brocoli and cauliflower. One can vary the recipe and use up vegetables one has on hand. The next day it thickens, and my mom thins it with more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Increased the broth, decreased the cheese, and added chopped ham. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Loved this chowder! Did add chicken and a little bacon. Family really enjoyed it. Well have again. Good on a cool fall night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I fixed this last Thanksgiving using vegetable bouillon so that my vegetarian friends could enjoy it. I used butter and only 1/4 cup of flour, because we wanted a creamy rather than a thick chowder. I put the shredded cheese in a bowl and let folks put their own over the top when they served themselves in our buffet. Everyone liked it so much I ended up fixing it again for Christmas...and we'll definitely have it as the "keep us going till dinner" soup this Thanksgiving, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
A hearty husband pleaser! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This was the best recipe ever. Even my 6 year old granddaughter liked it and she doesn't like anything vegetable. Thank You soooooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I love this soup! I did make a couple of changes, though. I sauteed some bacon, removed it when crisp, and used the drippings for the veggies. I also pureed the soup before adding the cheese (only 2 cups rather than 3), then crumbled the bacon into it once the cheese was melted. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Very, very good!!! I used a frozen vegi mix of the same vegetables and it was even faster to put together. So good that our 17 y/o who has no interest in broccoli/cauliflower had 2 bowls and asked me to make more! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This is the hit! My 18month old son who usually doesn't like to eat veggie love to eat this wonderful soup! Thank you for shareing this nice and easy recipe ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
i couldn't believe this was so good considering how fast this was to put together; even with having to chop lots of fresh produce (used food processor). Used 2 bouillon cubes instead of 3 and a little less cheese and this tasted VERY good - even my 2 year old ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States