Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely. But I used a yellow bell pepper instead of red, and since I didn't have any celery, I just added extra broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots to compensate. I actually used a pre-packaged bag of broccoli & cauliflower florets from Trader Joe's, so it was really easy. Based on other reviews, I didn't even chop them smaller and they cooked down great (I did poke them a bit with a spoon towards the end to "help" them integrate more with the soup). I forgot to add parsley, and I just eyeballed the cheese (shredded a big pile of it and threw it in at the end). It tasted pretty good without the cheese too, so I like that flexibility of the recipe. My husband and I both loved it. The kids (they are 4 1/2 and 2) only ate a few bites, so that's why I only gave it 4 stars and not 5. My son actually said he liked it, so there's still hope (maybe he just wasn't very hungry tonight!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Great soup! I cut the broccoli and cauliflower fairly coarse because I like chunky soup, and they still cooked down to almost nothing... next time I will chop even coarser. Soup tasted great and was the right consistency without using a blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is my all-time favourite vegetable soup -- I usually don't change a thing, except once in a while I throw in some potatoes and I usually add a bit of roasted red pepper seasoning -- yummy! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Great base for a creamy soup. I used onions, garlic, carrots, celery and broccoli. Left out the cheese entirely. Turned out delicious and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was great! I'll add less flour though, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
...I started out making House Fried Rice and discovered I was out of rice!? (heat must be getting to me)..so..with my veggies semi-stir fried I decided to make soup. Threw my veggies (onion, broc, carrots and celery) in a stock pot added some frozen corn and roasted red pepper and garlic and proceeded with this recipe. I didn't have to boil the veggies just brought the chicken broth to a simmer, added the milk and flour..stirred..added the parsley, lots of ground black pepper and sharp cheddar. Good soup! Served with Tomato Bruschetta. Thanks R.A...you saved the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was a nice, simple chowder. Not bursting with flavor, but a quick meal when you want to make something quick and healthy. I did take the suggestion of others and add corn. I can't imagine the soup without it! I also used less broth and milk than required to make the soup thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I omitted the broccoli, and I think it was a big mistake. The soup was okay, but it was definitely missing something. I won't forget the broccoli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
The kids loved this! My kids will never knowingly tough a bell pepper or onion, but ate all of this. I found this recipe when looking for something to use up a drawer full of veggies in the refrigerator; it was perfect! I didn't have any cauliflower, but lots of broccoli so I doubled it. Tossed in a clove of pressed garlic. And we only had to cook for 15 minutes (I suspect since the veggies were a week old in the fridge), but it turned out great! The only thing I might change if I make again is to add a little more spice- maybe some chili powder or an herb blend. It's a good thing it turned out well... the recipe only used up about half of the veggies, so I might make again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Salvinian
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Fantastic recipe! I followed the standard recipe and added two jalapeno peppers and a bunch of green onions and simmered only for 15 minutes so that the vegetables wouldn't get too soft and man, oh, man it's GOOOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salvinian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States