Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I just served this to a crowd the other night, and what a huge hit it was! There were several requests for the recipe. It was super easy, and I only made a couple of small changes--used cream instead of milk (although it was so rich, I probably could have stuck with milk)and reduced the cheese to two cups (it was still incredibly cheesy). Oh, yes, and I also added mushrooms. I know I'll use this recipe many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I loved this recipe! So does my husband. I didn't change anything, and thought it came out perfect. I will for sure be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I used only a small pat of butter and a little olive oil to saute the onions/peppers, added mushrooms and corn, and reduced the cheese to about 1/2 cup sharp cheddar, with a little sprinkled on top of each bowl. I also blended the soup just a little bit with my handheld mixer to give it a smoother consistency (but still let some veggie chunks remain). I thought the recipe was absolutely delicious. I am definitely adding it to my meal rotation. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely. But I used a yellow bell pepper instead of red, and since I didn't have any celery, I just added extra broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots to compensate. I actually used a pre-packaged bag of broccoli & cauliflower florets from Trader Joe's, so it was really easy. Based on other reviews, I didn't even chop them smaller and they cooked down great (I did poke them a bit with a spoon towards the end to "help" them integrate more with the soup). I forgot to add parsley, and I just eyeballed the cheese (shredded a big pile of it and threw it in at the end). It tasted pretty good without the cheese too, so I like that flexibility of the recipe. My husband and I both loved it. The kids (they are 4 1/2 and 2) only ate a few bites, so that's why I only gave it 4 stars and not 5. My son actually said he liked it, so there's still hope (maybe he just wasn't very hungry tonight!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Great soup! I cut the broccoli and cauliflower fairly coarse because I like chunky soup, and they still cooked down to almost nothing... next time I will chop even coarser. Soup tasted great and was the right consistency without using a blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is my all-time favourite vegetable soup -- I usually don't change a thing, except once in a while I throw in some potatoes and I usually add a bit of roasted red pepper seasoning -- yummy! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Great base for a creamy soup. I used onions, garlic, carrots, celery and broccoli. Left out the cheese entirely. Turned out delicious and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was great! I'll add less flour though, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
...I started out making House Fried Rice and discovered I was out of rice!? (heat must be getting to me)..so..with my veggies semi-stir fried I decided to make soup. Threw my veggies (onion, broc, carrots and celery) in a stock pot added some frozen corn and roasted red pepper and garlic and proceeded with this recipe. I didn't have to boil the veggies just brought the chicken broth to a simmer, added the milk and flour..stirred..added the parsley, lots of ground black pepper and sharp cheddar. Good soup! Served with Tomato Bruschetta. Thanks R.A...you saved the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This was a nice, simple chowder. Not bursting with flavor, but a quick meal when you want to make something quick and healthy. I did take the suggestion of others and add corn. I can't imagine the soup without it! I also used less broth and milk than required to make the soup thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States