Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
4.5 stars. It'd be 5 stars with additional spices. I'm sure I'll make this again, and I'll try adding garlic and thyme, and add jalapenos to my vegetable list. I used evaporated milk for 1 cup of the milk because it needed to be used up; I think it helped make the soup thick & rich. I pureed my vegetables after the 20 minute boil (husband has texture issues). I didn't measure my vegetables at all, because I'm a rebel like that, and I overdid it on the carrots, which made it too sweet. 2 carrots was 1 too many for us. Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely make this one again, as it's so easy to modify with what you have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Wow, I can't believe how well this turned out considering I didn't have a lot of the ingredients on hand. I wanted to use up a lot of veggies before they went bad, and this is an incredibly versatile recipe. I used onion, garlic, carrots, celery, & broccoli, with a box of chicken broth (4 cups), then evaporated milk, a little flour, 2c cheese, some cilantro & green onions at the end. My husband and I had thirds, my 6-yr old had seconds, and my picky 3-yr old ate some of it. This will definitely be a stand-by recipe for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOPEYDUCK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
What a delight. I used 12 oz. bottle of Michelob Ultra and water to total 1 1/2 C. I am not a beer drinker but recipe turned out yummy. Great way to use up beer. Would NOT make the recipe w/o beer. Husband agrees (and he is not a beer drinker either). I used 2 1/2 C. of cheese. The consistancy was perfect. Can't wait for the leftovers. Will make again and again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a perfect soup to make on a cold snowy day or anytime during the winter. My sister and I found this recipe years ago on this site and it is a go-to....kids and adults love it and it has lots of veggies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yum! Great dish. The whole family enjoyed it. This will be a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Excellent, and could be used to make seafood. Even modified for low-fat, it's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is much better than it looks. I did as another reviewer and omitted the flour and used my immersion blender to blend about half the soup, but leaving it chunky. I added the cup of milk, using 1/2 cream and 1/2 1% fat milk, and only 1 cup of Cheddar cheese. I also used dry parsley instead of fresh. What a great way to get your veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I made this for dinner the other night and served it with some homemade crusty bread. The end result was good, satisfying soup - but it was very basic, so I probably won't make it again (there are other recipes out there that are better, and just as easy to make).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
What a great simple nutrient dense soup! I didn't have/don't like all of the ingredients, so I just used the veggies I had on hand (2 red bell peppers, 1 orange bell pepper, 4-5 carrots-some chopped/some shaved, 1/2 a red onion, 2 broccoli crowns, about 1/2 bag of frozen white shoepeg corn, and 1 box of frozen peas) and didn't measure anything. I sauteed the onion and peppers in a dash of EVOO and 2 healthy spoons of minced garlic, then added a carton of chicken broth and the remaining veggies and simmered for about 10 minutes. I added a can of skim evaporated milk w/a dash of flour mixed in. Then, I lightly blended some of the soup w/my immersion blender and added about 2/3 a 2 cup bag of 2% shredded cheddar. Good stuff! Even Mr. LTH said "Tell them Mr. "L""T""H" like this"....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
My french boyfriend who is seriously a perfectionist and not into veggies absolutely loved this soup... he even wants me to make it for his parents and he tells his french friends about it. He gave it 10 out of 10. Come on, french guys know when something tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 51-60 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States