Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I love this recipe as does my family. I made it tonight and tripled it to give some away to a sick friend. You can adjust the vegetables to your family's tastes but do not omit the red bell pepper as it really makes the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tory

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I've made this about 8 times now, and it couldn't be easier. Great for throwing in any veggies that are wasting away in the refrigerator. Celery root and parsnips are a favorite of ours, along with quite a bit of cauliflower. This soup always turns out great. We think it would be good with cubed ham, but haven't tried it. A healthy, hearty meal in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Wonderful chowder! I used butter to saute the pepper and onions; about 4 cups of homemade chicken broth instead of the bouillon/water. Took the advise of some of the reviewers to use half of the suggested amount of cheese. This turned out to be a great meal served with some fresh French Bread. Thank you for sharing, TALL MOM. This is a keeper and will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I questioned some of the ingredients, but the flavors really come together. I used a whole onion, half of the suggested amount of cheese, and subbed potato flakes for the flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
omitted the cheese as it was creamy enough without the cheese. Used double the carrots and broccoli as I didn't have celery or cauliflower on hand. added a little bit of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was a very quick simple soup to make for a busy night. I didn't have cauliflower, so added in a whole bell pepper and onion. I used my own chicken broth instead of water and bouillon cubes. We don't ever have margarine, so I used butter. I did add in some minced garlic along with the other vegetables. You may want to add in some more spices, it is a bit on the bland side, but that is just us, we like flavoring from herbs. This is a pretty flexible recipe to use what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Great weeknight supper! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and halved the cheese; it worked great, but you should only add it a handful at a time, stir until it melts, and add another handful,... I sauteed the celery with the onion/pepper mixture since I don't like crunchy celery in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very good, just the taste I was looking for. Used homemade chicken stock, non fat milk, 2 tbls. butter. Did not have red pepper and husband doesn't like cook carrots so doubled the brocolli and cauliflower. Had to add a bit more milk as it was too thick. Used 1 1/2 c. sharp cheddar. Before adding cheese I used my submersible hand blended and blened it about half way. Wow, it is excellent. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I thought this was just alright. I ended up having to add italian spices and pasta to give it something. Also, despite making a double recipe and adding pasta, it only fed 4 ppl as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very creamy and tasty; simple, too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States