Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I fixed this last Thanksgiving using vegetable bouillon so that my vegetarian friends could enjoy it. I used butter and only 1/4 cup of flour, because we wanted a creamy rather than a thick chowder. I put the shredded cheese in a bowl and let folks put their own over the top when they served themselves in our buffet. Everyone liked it so much I ended up fixing it again for Christmas...and we'll definitely have it as the "keep us going till dinner" soup this Thanksgiving, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Loved this chowder! Did add chicken and a little bacon. Family really enjoyed it. Well have again. Good on a cool fall night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Turned out REALLY thick so ended up adding more broth to thin it, but all in all very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
This was fabulous as my boyfriend said! I made a huge batch like I always do and used a hand blender and it came out perfectly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
This recipe turned out pretty well. It was a pretty "heavy" soup; I would recommend adding some lemon juice at the table, but then I put lemon juice on almost everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I would add another one cup of water to make the soup a little less dense, also I only used 2 cups of cheese instead of 3 to cut down on calories. wonderful recipy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
Loved this soup, just delicious...however, I did reduce cheese to one cup and added three strips of diced bacon...really made it! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
Very good! I substited with frozen vegetables (but then I simmered for the 20 minutes and that was not necessary, my veggies were over cooked). I also used a can of beer and one cup of water. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Made this recipe tonight and it was wonderful! However, did add some bacon and used the fat rendered from the bacon too so decreased the amount of margarine. Would have prefered it with half the amount of cheese but will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
If you like thick chowder, this is it. Very, very good. I used frozen veggies instead of chopping for hours and it was still excellent. Bacon would've been a nice addition and maybe a handful of fresh diced tomatoes to top it off. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLYJELLO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States