Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is SOOOO good!! I didn't use all the veggies that the recipe called for. I just used whatever I had on hand. I also omitted the chicken bouillon, the recipe doesn't need it anyway. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
My family and I really liked this chowder~! I did follow the suggestions and used a cup more water than called for, and it was still thick, but good. I used all 3 cups cheese because we absolutely love cheese. However, it did make it a little more like a dip and less like a soup, so I will only use 2 cups next time as other reviewers suggested. What I LOVE about this recipe is you can literally use whatever veggies and whatever cheese your family likes most. You can't mess it up! I used frozen and fresh veggies, but I think next time I will add more. I will also not simmer for 20 minutes, but only about 10 minutes until crisp tender, as the veggies get even softer when the chowder has to boil again. I look forward to experimenting with this recipe in the future as this will be a regular for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Good chowder. I didn't use any peppers because I didn't have any; also substituted soy milk instead of real milk, and reduced flour to 1/4 cup. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This chowder is great! I used all the recommended vegetables and added peas corn and green beans proportionately because I wanted to use them up while they were fresh. I cut the cheese in half because of the calories, but it still turned out *****. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
We made this as a Girl Scouts group for a dinner at a Ronald McDonald house--it is SO SO good. Very easy too, once you get the vegetables chopped. We did add one extra cup of water after the milk/flour mixture, and only 1 1/2 cups of the cheese. Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This is another keeper! Even the kids loved it. I added sweet corn kernels and green peas and it's really great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I have been looking for a good cheesy soup and this was it! SO good. Maybe a little to much cheese though I think that next time I will use only 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was an excellent recipe. I used frozen chinese vegetables that I had in the freezer so it was very quick to make. I did find it really thick so I added a little more broth and the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
In my opinion I destroyed this recipe the first time I made it by mixing the cheese into the soup. At most, I suggest serving the soup with cheese sprinkled on top - I also enjoy it with no cheese at all - but there is no need to enrich the soup further by mixing in the cheese, ESPECIALLY in the quantity suggested. I love this recipe. It is easy and flexible. Don't be afraid of it if you don't think you like cauliflower, which acts to make it "potato soup-like". Do what others suggest with chicken broth. Do not overly chop up the brocoli and cauliflower. One can vary the recipe and use up vegetables one has on hand. The next day it thickens, and my mom thins it with more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
i couldn't believe this was so good considering how fast this was to put together; even with having to chop lots of fresh produce (used food processor). Used 2 bouillon cubes instead of 3 and a little less cheese and this tasted VERY good - even my 2 year old ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States