Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I doubled the recipe and cut way back on the cheese as others suggested. Instead I kept some on the side so that ewach can add it as they like. Just as good re-heated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is SOOOO good!! I didn't use all the veggies that the recipe called for. I just used whatever I had on hand. I also omitted the chicken bouillon, the recipe doesn't need it anyway. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
My family and I really liked this chowder~! I did follow the suggestions and used a cup more water than called for, and it was still thick, but good. I used all 3 cups cheese because we absolutely love cheese. However, it did make it a little more like a dip and less like a soup, so I will only use 2 cups next time as other reviewers suggested. What I LOVE about this recipe is you can literally use whatever veggies and whatever cheese your family likes most. You can't mess it up! I used frozen and fresh veggies, but I think next time I will add more. I will also not simmer for 20 minutes, but only about 10 minutes until crisp tender, as the veggies get even softer when the chowder has to boil again. I look forward to experimenting with this recipe in the future as this will be a regular for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Good chowder. I didn't use any peppers because I didn't have any; also substituted soy milk instead of real milk, and reduced flour to 1/4 cup. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This chowder is great! I used all the recommended vegetables and added peas corn and green beans proportionately because I wanted to use them up while they were fresh. I cut the cheese in half because of the calories, but it still turned out *****. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
We made this as a Girl Scouts group for a dinner at a Ronald McDonald house--it is SO SO good. Very easy too, once you get the vegetables chopped. We did add one extra cup of water after the milk/flour mixture, and only 1 1/2 cups of the cheese. Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This is another keeper! Even the kids loved it. I added sweet corn kernels and green peas and it's really great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I have been looking for a good cheesy soup and this was it! SO good. Maybe a little to much cheese though I think that next time I will use only 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was an excellent recipe. I used frozen chinese vegetables that I had in the freezer so it was very quick to make. I did find it really thick so I added a little more broth and the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States