Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
Awe-sommmmme! I altered it a bit by using 2 cans of chicken broth instead of boullion, omit salt, and use 1/2 milk and 1/2 light cream for the milk. Only used 2 cups of cheese which was PLENTY! I also pureed half the soup in a blender like someone else suggested before adding the milk and cheese. My dh ate 3 bowls the first night I made it! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
Probably one of the best cream soups I have had in ages. I made this recipe exactly as indicated except used homemade chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon cubes. Do not skimp on the cheese as some reviewers said - it is absolutely perfect and tastes like something you would have in any good restaurant. Try this and you won't be disappointed. 5 Stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I modified this recipe for Atkins by adding more water, replacing the carrots with green pepper, eliminating the flour and putting in a half a cup of cream instead of milk. Came out thinner without the flour, but still was very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Great recipe. To lower the calorie count I used a vegetable spray to saute instead of butter, used half of the cheese and blended 1/3 of the soup in my blender rather than thickening with the flour and milk. Still tastes great and is healthier as I try to drop post holiday pounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This was very good, very cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Mmmm-Mmmm good! I made it as written except I used half the amount of cheese called for.I used a can of evaporated milk for the milk part. Makes a delicious, creamy pot of soup. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Really yummy, easy and fast, a great combination! I used zucchini instead of cauliflour and some chopped fresh basil instead of parsely, also some harvarti mixed with the cheddar; all worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
I recommend this recipe highly. I followed other recommendations to go light on the cheese and had to add the rest of the cheese later. I'm learning to take suggestions through the context of the reviewers own personal preference. If you like thick soup, as I do--by all means leave the cheese in. In my opinion, it's not overwhelming and tastes great. The soup tastes delicious without cheese too, so let common sense lead you to what tastes best to YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I don't like vegetables too much but I like this soup. I blended the vegetables and added an extra cup of water, I also served the cheese on the side. However you make it though, it is definately a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This was pretty good. The only thing I changed was I used 3 cups of chicken broth added some boneless/skinless chicken and spiced it up with red pepper. Thanks, I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States