Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
This was a very good recipe, but it seemed to lack a little "zip". Next time I think I will try adding a little Worcester Sauce to give it a little pick up. Also I found that there was a bit of a floury aftertaste, so I think that I will either cut down on the flour or substitute corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHINASMOM2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I made this a few nights ago and it was fabulous! I am glad that I read the reviews regarding the cheese. Once the flour and water is added it is already quite thick and that was even after me adding a cup more water. I did not add cheese at all except for on top when I served it and it was perfect. Even the next day...my son and I had leftovers and without the cheese being in it...before I heated it...I still added extra milk as it was very thick. I can't imagine just how thick it would be if I had added the amount of cheese it suggested. I will be making this one again and again...just as I did and it will be perfect. Oh...I did add about a half teaspoon of paprika and basil to it and I do think it added a little something. Try this one...without the amount of cheese suggested and you will love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I made this recipe and my family just loved it. It was really delicious and I will definitely make it again. I did alter one thing - I used olive oil instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I just loved this soup. Because i have to watch my vitamin K intake, I didn't use the broccoli, or caulifower. Instead I used a can of mixed veges, plus corn, green beans, and peas. Used 2 cups of half and half, and one cup of 2% milk with the flour. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LONGBELT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
AWESOME! Wonderful flavor and texture. I followed the recipe as listed except I added a can of whole kernel corn (drained) and we all thought it was great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
What a great recipe! Of course, I had to tinker with it a bit... used reduced-fat shredded cheddar cheese and skim milk. Also used the veggie broth option instead of chicken. We had a pound of Seafood Mix (Trader Joe's brand) defrosted so I microwaved that, let it cool overnight, rinsed and drained. Added to chowder near the end of the cooking time. Ended up with a Seafood Chowder, of course, but the basic recipe was such a great way to start. We had the leftovers for lunch the next day and I believe it was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
At last a recipe that 'disguises' the veggies. I have a 16 year old who will only eat 3 vegetables, so when I came across this recipe I thought I'd died and gone to heaven! I made it just 'as is' EXCEPT I add more milk to thin it out and give the 'kid' a little more nutrients. After cooking it for the 2 minutes, I just added more milk until I was satisfied with the consistency. I also added all the cheese. The 'kid' needs every nutrient I can get into him. It worked! I had half a pot of the soup in the fridge and between him and a friend they had it for a late supper AND for breakfast! I had to make another batch (this time I doubled it, just to be safe) My oldest son said he liked the soup even before I added the milk mixture and cheese and my husband had 2 large bowls. Everyone loves it. So..... this one is definitely a 'KEEPER'. I hate to chop veggies but this recipe was well worth the effort and the second time I made it the chopping didn't seem so bad. Thanks for a great and easy recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
Yummy! This was a hit with my family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
Awe-sommmmme! I altered it a bit by using 2 cans of chicken broth instead of boullion, omit salt, and use 1/2 milk and 1/2 light cream for the milk. Only used 2 cups of cheese which was PLENTY! I also pureed half the soup in a blender like someone else suggested before adding the milk and cheese. My dh ate 3 bowls the first night I made it! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
Probably one of the best cream soups I have had in ages. I made this recipe exactly as indicated except used homemade chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon cubes. Do not skimp on the cheese as some reviewers said - it is absolutely perfect and tastes like something you would have in any good restaurant. Try this and you won't be disappointed. 5 Stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States