Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Very pleasant chowder...I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
this soup was well liked by my family. I did alter it a bit after reading other reviews. I will make this many times. I have used frozen vegetables, cooked them and then put them in the food processer for just a few seconds to chop the vegetables up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Can't say how much I loved it! Like others mentioned, I used an immersion blender near the end to puree some of the veggies. It turned out like a chunky cream soup. Added about half the amount of cheese and couldn't believe how wonderful it was. My family went on and on about it. Restaurant quailty soup. Will definitely make many more times! Could use the same basic recipe and technique to make whatever kind of veggie soup you like: broccoli cheese, creamy cauliflower, etc. Thanks for a great addition to my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
YUMMY! This is such an easy and delicious recipe - I have made it the past 3 weekends and it is well worth the time spent at the cutting board. The first time I made the batch as noted and the next 2 times I doubled it so we would have leftovers. I used canned chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes and seasoned with seasoning salt instead of salt & pepper (personal preference). I have also added diced potatoes and sliced fresh mushrooms to it. I cut back the cheese to 2 cups (4 cups doubled) just to try to be a little health conscience. If you like creamy cheesy soups, you will probably love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This was absolutely incredible. I passed it on to my sister who made it for all the teachers at her school, they couldn't stop raving about. All the teachers now use this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This soup is excellent! The hardest part was cutting up the vegetables:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATMC102

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Great chowder! I made some substitutions to lower the fat/calories, for personal preference, and in honor of my grandmother. Light butter, 1% milk, 2 cups of 2% cheddar to lighten it. 2 cans of fat-free chicken stock in place of the boullion cubes and water--that's just personal preference. And I always use white pepper in cream sauces because that is what my grandmother taught me to do. It's just a little bit hotter, not much, and I don't get black specks. Thanks, R.A. We'll make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Excellent recipe! Before adding the cheese we blended the soup with a hand blender until it was smooth and the vegetables were pureed. Then added the cheese until melted and voila! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This was excellent and very easy to make. I used condensed milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELEXA68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This recipe was good. If I really wanted it to be quick I would use frozen veggies. Before adding the milk I used a handheld blender on some of the veggie chunks. I also used about 1/2 tsp of Italian seasoning along with the parsley. I thought the recipe called for too much flour. I will use less next time. The soup got too thick for my tastes. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States