Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Very good recipe. You can practically use any veggies you have on hand. I found the chowder too thick and will cut down flour to 1/4 cup next time. Used a can of fat-free evaporated milk. Served with cheese sprinkled on top. Delish - this is going into my six-week meal plan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This recipe ROCKS! I doubled the liquids and used a load of fresh veggies, whatever I had on hand. I eliminated the margarine (unnecessary calories) and just sauteed the onion in a generous dollop of olive oil. I also added a few cans of corn and diced potatoes to bulk it out--wonderful! I used evaporated milk and cut the amount of cheese by a third; otherwise it is just too rich. For a more full-bodied soup, try using vegetable broth or stock instead of bouillon and water. White pepper also worked nicely in this. I made a huge double batch and brought it in to work and they were licking the bowls and clamoring for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
In a word... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Really wonderful! I wondered how it could be so good, so decided to try it. I added a whole red pepper, and a whole chopped onion and a 1/2 head of chopped cabbage because I had it on hand. My secret ingedient in all soups is using a cup of juice rendered from caramelizing 10 sliced onions in the crockpot with one cube of butter for about 18 hours. I strain, and pkg the onions and the juice each in 1 cup baggies, and freeze. The onions go on meat, and the juice into soups. With this addition this chowder should go to a 10 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Absolutely great! This turned out perfect! I used chicken stock, rather than water and then added one boullion cube. I also did not use as much cheese. I used my dad's technique of shaking the flower and milk in a small closed tupperware container, before adding it to the soup. I added a clove of garlic to the veggies while they were simmering (then removed it before adding the flower/milk) to add a little more flavor. My husband doesn't like strong onion/garlic flavors, so this is one way I sneak in a bit of garlic. This recipe made it into my recipe binder, so 5 stars for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This is absolutely fantastic. Chopping the vegetables is time consuming, but it is well worth the effort. Everyone in the house loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Great recipe - easy, fast and nutritous! I double the recipe to have leftovers. Here's what I changed: I pureed a 15 oz. can of cannellini beans instead of using the milk/flour combo to thicken the soup (use any light colored beans - pinto, garbanzo) and also took a few ladles full of soup and pureed that. Added a bit of half & half for the creamy look/taste (maybe added 6-8 oz). You also really don't need all that much cheese - I used 2C the first time I made it and only 1C the second time (even though I doubled everything else). IT WAS AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
WOW!So delicious!The whole family loved it!Only downfall was that now i'm being bullied into making it again and again! Hats off to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
very satisfying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This soup is delicious. Once you get past cutting up the vegetables, it is quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States