Vegetable Cheesy Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
My kids really liked this soup. I added frozen peas and carrots, frozen mixed colored peppers,and fresh zucchini in addiotion to the celery, onion, and creamed corn. I used about 4c of chicken broth and used fat free half and half instead of milk. I also omnitted the butter and made a slurry of cornstarch and water to thicken the soup. Will add more cheese next time as per my oldest's request. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I tried this recipe because I needed a vegetarian soup for a very large group. This soup is easy to make, tastes great and freezes well. A great find, I have used it with a couple of large groups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sundown, Texas, USA
Living In: Hunt, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I tweaked this recipe a bit to suit my family's tastes- the recipe itself is a wonderful base. I added diced redskin potatoes with the vegetables. I only drained about half the water from the veggies- just depends on how you like the consistency of your soup. I also added diced chicken, which I browned with lots of minced garlic prior to adding. Due to my added ingredients, I added an additional cup of milk and a cup of half and half. We are big cheese lovers, so I used a whole brick of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I seasoned the soup with pepper, garlic salt, and bay leaf. It was absolutely delicious! One of our new family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I have to admit, as I was making this, I thought of many methods I thought I should be using to impart more flavor (cooking the veggies in broth or simply sauteing them in butter/garlic, adding assorted herbs, etc). However, I stuck to recipe (worried it was going to be bland and tasteless) and I'm so glad I did. This is REALLY good AND really quick to throw together (my school's on a two hour delay this morning, so I made it as our French toast cooked...it's that easy). I also like that it uses staple ingredients (if I add canned creamed corn to the grocery list), so it can be a great lastminutedidntplandinnernowwhatdoimake meal. It's not the healthiest soup in the world, but at least we're getting some veggies. THANKS for a new soup recipe that will get used again at the LTH house! Random notes: I left out the celery (because it's gross) and used a red onion because it's the only onion I had and the recipe didn't specify type (I'll use yellow in the future, though the red added nice color). I also added some extra leftover frozen corn because my mixed veggie bag was 12 oz. There are no cook temps listed, so I went w/medium high for the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This soup was delicious and very easy. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I try not to use canned veggies so I changed the can of corn to frozen corn and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AyyyCervantes
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I've been in the mood for cheesy vegetable soup but couldn't find any good, easy recipes. Well, this I've definitely hit the spot. I even got my son (who isn't a big fan of his veggies) to eat a whole bowl of it. I'll be making this again shortly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I am a big fan of soups, and I am also a very picky eater. I wouldn't say this recpie was fantastic, but it was very good. I would definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very good and easy to prepare. I will definitely make again. The only thing that I did different was add a little garlic powder to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This recipe was good and I liked how it was so basic. However, it didn't have much flavour for my personal liking. I stirred in a little chili powder and beef oxo and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States