Vegetable Cheesy Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This recipe was good and I liked how it was so basic. However, it didn't have much flavour for my personal liking. I stirred in a little chili powder and beef oxo and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AyyyCervantes
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I've been in the mood for cheesy vegetable soup but couldn't find any good, easy recipes. Well, this I've definitely hit the spot. I even got my son (who isn't a big fan of his veggies) to eat a whole bowl of it. I'll be making this again shortly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was okay but bland. I will make again but add some more spices and maybe a can of green chiles or even rotel just to perk it up. Good base though and did get my son to eat some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I try not to use canned veggies so I changed the can of corn to frozen corn and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Hubby and the little guy LOVED this, and I thought it was very good, but I feel like something's missing. I added in garlic w/ the other veggies, but I still feel it needed something else...This was a snap to make and it is tasty. The fact that the little guy ate his entire bowl before hubby and I even sat down, says a lot! I used 2% Velveeta in place of the cheddar. I will def be making this again, and try to figure out what's missing, lol! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This soup was delicious and very easy. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
My kids really liked this soup. I added frozen peas and carrots, frozen mixed colored peppers,and fresh zucchini in addiotion to the celery, onion, and creamed corn. I used about 4c of chicken broth and used fat free half and half instead of milk. I also omnitted the butter and made a slurry of cornstarch and water to thicken the soup. Will add more cheese next time as per my oldest's request. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I have to admit, as I was making this, I thought of many methods I thought I should be using to impart more flavor (cooking the veggies in broth or simply sauteing them in butter/garlic, adding assorted herbs, etc). However, I stuck to recipe (worried it was going to be bland and tasteless) and I'm so glad I did. This is REALLY good AND really quick to throw together (my school's on a two hour delay this morning, so I made it as our French toast cooked...it's that easy). I also like that it uses staple ingredients (if I add canned creamed corn to the grocery list), so it can be a great lastminutedidntplandinnernowwhatdoimake meal. It's not the healthiest soup in the world, but at least we're getting some veggies. THANKS for a new soup recipe that will get used again at the LTH house! Random notes: I left out the celery (because it's gross) and used a red onion because it's the only onion I had and the recipe didn't specify type (I'll use yellow in the future, though the red added nice color). I also added some extra leftover frozen corn because my mixed veggie bag was 12 oz. There are no cook temps listed, so I went w/medium high for the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I tweaked this recipe a bit to suit my family's tastes- the recipe itself is a wonderful base. I added diced redskin potatoes with the vegetables. I only drained about half the water from the veggies- just depends on how you like the consistency of your soup. I also added diced chicken, which I browned with lots of minced garlic prior to adding. Due to my added ingredients, I added an additional cup of milk and a cup of half and half. We are big cheese lovers, so I used a whole brick of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I seasoned the soup with pepper, garlic salt, and bay leaf. It was absolutely delicious! One of our new family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very good and easy to prepare. I will definitely make again. The only thing that I did different was add a little garlic powder to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States