Vegetable Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This soup was wonderful!!! I didn't have the processed cheese so I just used cubed sharp cheddar and colby jack. Did add a little more potatoes and some broccolli. Didn't have vegie broth so I used four chicken boullion cubes with package directions for broth. Had on hi for four hours bacause I started kind late. People who don't like soup liked this! Goes perfect with the "Italian Soup Bowls" also on this site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I really loved this soup after I added a few things. I had some left over meatloaf that I added, and I added a can of kidney beans, a can of diced tomatoes, and some frozen green beans. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Took me only 15 min prep time even with the extras I added ( shreadded carrots instead of chopped, broccoli florets, half a handful of green onion, pinch of chili powder, and minced fresh garlic). The flavors blended so well together and made the whole house smell so good during the cold winter. Served it with french bread for dipping and sprinkled shreadded cheddar cheese and parsley on top for garnish with a small side salad. Best of all, the WHOLE family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This was fabulous! I really wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was. I have had cheese soups in restaurants, and have always wanted to find that great recipe to make at home, but am always disappointed. I would say this is it! Here are the slight changes I made: 1 can of vegetable broth, double the potatoes, used the Kroger brand jar of processed cheese, added 1 clove minced garlic and I made it on the stovetop. (Since I made it on the stovetop, I sauteed the veggies in a little butter before adding the broth)Oh, I like others, added the creamed corn when I added the cheese. Excellent, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Yum Yum! I just used 1 can of veggie broth as others suggested and that worked great. I used 2 potatoes and 2 carrots. I also used the Kroger cheese queso and that added a nice spiciness to the soup. What I really liked about this was that it didn't make so many servings. So there weren't a ton of leftovers to eat. Sometimes that's OK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This soup turned out very well. I will definitely make again. I used a jar of salsa con queso for the cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
AWESOME!!! My picky-eater husband even liked it. I added 3 cloved of fresh, minced garlic, just one can of chicken broth, and some frozen broccoli. It tasted like restaurant soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I added only one can chicken broth, and no veg. broth. Turned out great. will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This is a very good base recipe. I took the advice of other viewers and doubled the amount of potatoes and also added additional vegetables (celery and broccoli). I omitted the corn as I don't care for it much and added some chicken. I used sauteed leeks rather than onion and added a bit of garlic. I probably tripled the amount of pepper as we love it. Both husband and son thought the broth could have been thicker but I don't like an overly-thick soup and thought it was the ideal consistensy. All in all, a lovely soup. Thank you Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Great recipe! I made this last night and everyone liked it. I did however double the amount of potatoes and carrots. I will definately make this again, I might add in some celery or another vegetable in addition, next time. Great for chilly fall days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States