Vegetable Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Great! You could also thicken it up, as the broth is a little thin. Totally filling, as long as you don't mind the calories. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good base recipe. Some ideas I liked were, garlic, chicken, broccoli, red bell pepper, green onion, and frozen corn rather than canned corn. Came out excellent, with extra shredded cheese to thicken up! Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KassDragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
i'm not sure why but i think the vegetable broth i used was too salty though i've never had that problem before. i used cheddar cheese instead of the jarred stuff and it just didn't melt well, it melted chunky. if i were to try this again i would definitely use a low sodium broth and different cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This soup is great. I have made it several times. Have added it to my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeeKum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great kid-friendly soup, and mom and dad loved it too! I used some grated cheddar instead of the jarred cheese sauce to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
A great winter day soup. My family likes spicy, so I added a can of Rotelle tomatos for a little bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
A friend gave me a very similar recipe years ago and it has become a staple on cold, winter nights. It doesn't take long to make either! I use Velveeta instead of jar sauce and saute onion, celery, garlic & carrots then add some flour before adding the broth and potatoes. The flour helps to thicken the soup. When the potatoes are done, I add the velveeta. I never used creamed corn, but will try it next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I did this on top of the stove so I could serve something new for lunch. Used fresh celery and chicken broth; added Velveeta and some Cheddar cheese. Served it with hot, crusty French bread. I recalculated the recipe for half and now I wish I had doubled it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very, very good. I made this for my friends (all non-vegetarians) and they loved it--one in particular who is quite the foodie. I do have to say, though, that you will need to add a lot of seasoning to give it much zest. As it stands, this recipe is somewhat bland, but it just takes adding generous amounts of salt and pepper to bring it up to speed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieCarrie
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made quite a few changes and ended up with a delicious, hearty soup! I used salsa con queso instead of the cheese sauce, omitted the celery seed and carrots, and added a can of black beans, about half a package of fresh spinach (chopped up in the blender with the vegetable broth, then added) and 1 c of salsa. I garnished it with shredded cheddar and a bit of cilantro, and WOW, what a tasty dish! I feel a lot better about the nutritional value too with the beans and spinach added. The spiciness of the salsa completely overrode the flavor of spinach. I will definitely make it over and over. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States