Vegetable Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I used fresh celery instead of celery seed and more potatoes. It was a very good recipe, but tasted a lot like another one that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I used 8 oz. frozen corn instead of canned. I used a spicy queso salsa for the process cheese. I thought this turned out great, although it took me a lot longer than 11 hours to cook this. I had to cook the vegetables for 16 hours in order to get them soft. Maybe I should have set the crock pot on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Added more vegetables and will try it with real cheese cubes next. Simple and tasty, if not healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was fabulous with a few changes. I used 2 cans of chicken broth, cut up celery, carrots, and about 3 potatoes. I added a pinch of celery seed and some cut up chicken. I also omitted the creamed corn. Cooked on high about 4 1/2 hours then added the jarred cheese, and thickened it with some shredded cheese. It was phenomenal. My husband does not eat veggies and he chowed this down like there was no tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I went back to look at the recipe again to see if I missed something. I was expecting something much more flavorful based on the reviews. It was bland and tased like processed cheese to me. And I don't know how truly healthful it is either with all the processed cheese that is in in. It was easy to prepare, but not even worth what little effort it took to cut up the potatoes and carrots. Blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
really good! added cheddar cheese cubes and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya McGhee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I did a few of the suggested tweaks--used a little less celery seed than called for, and added a stalk of chopped celery ('cause I like it) and a head of fresh chopped broccoli ('cause I love it!). The cooking time sounded far too long to me, so I cooked the veggies and broth on high for about 4 hours, then added the queso, creamed corn, and a package of shredded Monterey Jack, which I hadn't planned to add, but the soup was looking thin, and that thickened it up nicely. It was delish. Next time I think I'll leave out the potatoes and put in two heads of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
SO good! I used some Salsa Con Queso and more potatoes. Delicious! Great with Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was REALLY good! I doubled the veggies and added 3 cloves chopped garlic and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. I dumped it all in the crock pot before work, let it cook for 10 hours and (get this) my husband got home before me and actually called me at work to say how great the whole house smelled. We both thought the flavor was remarkable and it could not have been easier. Don't leave out the celery seed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
With suggestions from others reviewing this recipe, the soup was excellent. I peeled and quartered 2 large size russett potatoes, peeled and chopped 1 large carrot and placed those in a dutch oven. I added 1 tsp. of minced garlic and 1/2 tsp of celery seed to the veggies then poured 1 15 oz can chicken stock over all. Covered the pot and brought the contents to a boil on the stove top. Turned the heat down and let it simmer until veggies were done. I took my hand masher and roughly mashed the veggies -leaving some unmashed. I then stirred in the creamed corn and the salsa con queso and just heated through. It was excellent. Took less than half an hour from start to finish! If the soup is too thick for you, thin with additional stock or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States