Vegetable Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This soup was wonderful!!! I didn't have the processed cheese so I just used cubed sharp cheddar and colby jack. Did add a little more potatoes and some broccolli. Didn't have vegie broth so I used four chicken boullion cubes with package directions for broth. Had on hi for four hours bacause I started kind late. People who don't like soup liked this! Goes perfect with the "Italian Soup Bowls" also on this site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Took me only 15 min prep time even with the extras I added ( shreadded carrots instead of chopped, broccoli florets, half a handful of green onion, pinch of chili powder, and minced fresh garlic). The flavors blended so well together and made the whole house smell so good during the cold winter. Served it with french bread for dipping and sprinkled shreadded cheddar cheese and parsley on top for garnish with a small side salad. Best of all, the WHOLE family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieCarrie
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made quite a few changes and ended up with a delicious, hearty soup! I used salsa con queso instead of the cheese sauce, omitted the celery seed and carrots, and added a can of black beans, about half a package of fresh spinach (chopped up in the blender with the vegetable broth, then added) and 1 c of salsa. I garnished it with shredded cheddar and a bit of cilantro, and WOW, what a tasty dish! I feel a lot better about the nutritional value too with the beans and spinach added. The spiciness of the salsa completely overrode the flavor of spinach. I will definitely make it over and over. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This was fabulous! I really wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was. I have had cheese soups in restaurants, and have always wanted to find that great recipe to make at home, but am always disappointed. I would say this is it! Here are the slight changes I made: 1 can of vegetable broth, double the potatoes, used the Kroger brand jar of processed cheese, added 1 clove minced garlic and I made it on the stovetop. (Since I made it on the stovetop, I sauteed the veggies in a little butter before adding the broth)Oh, I like others, added the creamed corn when I added the cheese. Excellent, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This was an Ok recipe. Would add the creamed corn at the end of cooking time if I made it again. I increased the amount of potatoes and cut back a bit on the carrot. Could have used a small amount of sharp cheese with the cheese sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
my roommates LOVED this soup. They requested that I make this all the time now, hahah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very, very good. I made this for my friends (all non-vegetarians) and they loved it--one in particular who is quite the foodie. I do have to say, though, that you will need to add a lot of seasoning to give it much zest. As it stands, this recipe is somewhat bland, but it just takes adding generous amounts of salt and pepper to bring it up to speed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I also added more potoatoes than called for. I found the soup to be a little liquid-y. I would definitely add more veggies next time, maybe brocolli or cauliflower. The cheesy flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good base recipe. Some ideas I liked were, garlic, chicken, broccoli, red bell pepper, green onion, and frozen corn rather than canned corn. Came out excellent, with extra shredded cheese to thicken up! Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Betz Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Yumm! Husband had three servings of this great soup. Used only half of the vegetable broth, added broccoli, and used the salsa con queso. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States