Vegetable Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I did this on top of the stove so I could serve something new for lunch. Used fresh celery and chicken broth; added Velveeta and some Cheddar cheese. Served it with hot, crusty French bread. I recalculated the recipe for half and now I wish I had doubled it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very, very good. I made this for my friends (all non-vegetarians) and they loved it--one in particular who is quite the foodie. I do have to say, though, that you will need to add a lot of seasoning to give it much zest. As it stands, this recipe is somewhat bland, but it just takes adding generous amounts of salt and pepper to bring it up to speed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieCarrie
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made quite a few changes and ended up with a delicious, hearty soup! I used salsa con queso instead of the cheese sauce, omitted the celery seed and carrots, and added a can of black beans, about half a package of fresh spinach (chopped up in the blender with the vegetable broth, then added) and 1 c of salsa. I garnished it with shredded cheddar and a bit of cilantro, and WOW, what a tasty dish! I feel a lot better about the nutritional value too with the beans and spinach added. The spiciness of the salsa completely overrode the flavor of spinach. I will definitely make it over and over. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
We thought this soup was too boring.It didn't taste bad just very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by more please

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This recipe was great. I scaled the recipe to 3 servings and it fit great in my smaller crockpot. Otherwise, I followed the recipe except for using Velveeta cheese which was all I had. I served this with Paprika Onion Bread also found on this website. Try different kinds of vegetables in this. I'll be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I only gave the original recipe 4 stars, but with a few modifications it is definitely a 5! Instead of processed cheese I used regular colby jack (all I had) and subbed the celery seed for 3 stalks of celery. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Center, Washington, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
added extra can of corn and used 3/4 block of Velvetta. came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My husband gave it 2 stars, but I give it 3 because I liked it alright. Definately a "base" recipe as it will not taste "divine" unless you embelish it with different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I just make this on top the stove - add the corn and cheese at the end. It's a simple, delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura
Home Town: New London, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Amazing!!! I added some broccoli to this but changed nothing else. It was perfect! Seriously the "best" soup I have ever made and I make a different soup each week. This is a crowd pleaser 100%!! YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States