Vegetable Cashew Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I loved this recipe - it used sauces from my Asian cabinet (soya sauce and sesame oil) and condiments from my Western repetoire (balsamic vinegar and EVOO) to make a refreshing, tangy sauce. It was a great way to make edamame (the original way I found the recipe). Switched cauliflower for broccoli and button mushrooms for the shitaake and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Made this for a quick dinner last night, and it was YUMMMMM!!!!!! Love the combination of crispy vegs and a simple but delicious sauce. Satisfied my friend's craving for pasta and mine for vegs, and we both went back for seconds. I substituted about 1-1/2 T brown sugar for the white, and regular bow tie pasta instead of whole wheat (didn't have whole wheat). I'd like to try it next time with the whole wheat pasta. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was delicious. I love the combination of edamame and cashews--so rich and filling (which is why I made it without the pasta). I wouldn't have thought to add balsamic vinegar to an Asian-inspired stir-fry, but it works in this dish. I used agave nectar instead of sugar, omitted the carrots because I don't like them cooked, used baby bellas instead of shiitakes (not a fan of the texture), and added a few bean sprouts at the end. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Wonderful! I too changed the sugar to Agave (equal amount). I used cornstarch to thicken the liquid at the end to make more of a sauce as it was very runny. I might try rice next time instead of Pasta for a change. My family absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
The flavor was good, but I wasn't thrilled. AND, this made WAY more than my husband and I could eat in one week, so some of it ended up going bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I found this recipe to be a bit too vinegary. In the future I will cut down on the vinegar. Also I served it over rice, but the rice over absorbed the vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
REVIEW ADDITION: I served this cold at a family picnic with no changes. Many compliments! This is delicious. My teen just decided to be a vegetarian and I was looking for high protein meals. I made a half recipe and served it over noodles. I omitted the mushrooms, used EVOO instead of dark sesame oil and red wine vinegar for the balsamic vinegar. Thank you DVDANDDV, she went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I made this the other night and thought it was good, but agreed with another reviewer that found the vinegar flavor a little strong. I added tofu and omitted the edamame and it was tasty and filling. I also used one package of udon noodles (8.8 oz.) and it was plenty of noodles for two people. Also, if you haven't used sesame oil before, be really careful - it gets hot very quickly and can spatter everywhere if you don't add the veggies fast enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was not bad. I made a few adjustments such as serving with rice instead of pasta and not frying vegetables in sesame oil which I'm glad I didn't because there was just so much sauce already and it was a little too thick and gloppy for my taste overall. But the taste itself is pretty good, and combination of vegetables and cashews was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I love cashews and they were delicious with the veggies and sauce. What I changed in this recipe was that I sauteed onion, red pepper and broccoli in olive oil, only used the sesame oil in the sauce. Also added a sliced leftover chicken breast that had been flavored with balsamic vinegar. Will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States