Vegetable Beef Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Yum. Used leftover roast beef in cubes. Turned out tasty and there was enough left over to freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Awesome! I used a 2.5lb chunked-up chuck roast, tossed in the pot first while I tended to other things, but not totally browned, per se. I used 1 can of italian stewed tomatoes, 1 can of tomato sauce, and 1 large can of peeled, crushed tomatoes, to appease the non-tom people. I used about 6 cups of water and a healthy blob of beef base to make it more broth than water, and added about 1.5 tablespoons worcestershire sauce + 3/4 tablespoons of soy, that's just a family thing but we like to dance the fine line between a richer beef base vs. a meal of worcestershire- flavored, meat-like substance. Lastly, I let it cook low n slow for 4 hours, adding the potatoes (we upped the potato count, too) at about the 2 hour mark. I can not express how delish the meat chunks were. This soup was excellent! Next time, I'll use a little less liquid, and I'm going to tinker with it to make it a bit beefier vs. tomato-y, but that's the hubs preference. Thank you so much for the recipe! it will be used often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Very good soup! I added more vegetables but the flavor was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Braun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Turned out great ....Even us old guys that are not the greatest of chefs can make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is a great starter soup to add personal taste preferences. As noted in other reviews, I added 2 cloves minced garlic to the end of the browning process, used half water/half beef broth (along with the bouillon cubes), added 1 can Rotel tomatoes and green chilis, and doubled the thyme, bay leaf, and basil. Also, added some frozen corn. Usually, leftovers are a no-no in this house. But, I am hearing requests to eat it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merkel, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is a great base recipe- I cook it in a crockpot and use what I have on hand- water and bouilon or beef or vegetable stock, the stewed tomatoes are VITAL as I love the flavor this creates, but all the other veggies you can play with or just use what you have in the fridge that needs to get used. It's very tender and flavorful from cooking in the crockpot all day- great recipe and fabulous springboard for new or last minute ideas:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Use beef stock/low sodium beef broth instead bouillon cubes and water. Add other frozen, fresh or cooked leftover veges depending on what we have or need to use up. Good soup, better leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was great! Even better the second day. I followed this recipe to a T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe was perfect. I took the advice of others and doubled the seasonings, added dill, did not drain the meat & added a bag of frozen mixed veggies to thicken it up & it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States