Vegetable Beef Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I did make a bunch of changes to this soup, but it made for a really good basic recipe that you can add/change to your liking. First, when I was sauteing the beef and onions, I also added 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic towards the end for extra flavor. I did not drain the oils because I used fairly lean beef and there wasn't much in there and the fat also adds flavor to the soup. Then I used 5 cans of low sodium beef broth instead of water, but I did keep the use of the boullion cubes for an extra kick because I did add some extra ingredients. I added 2 sliced italian zucchini squash, 3/4 cups frozen corn kernels, 3/4 cups barley, and a pinch of ground pepper to the recipe. It came out really great with deep flavors and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is a very good soup. Very flavorful and my whole family loves it. I often give extra to friends and they all love it as well. I make very little alterations to it. I rarely drain the meat because I use beef stew meat or a large sirloin steak cut up that's equal to or more than the 1.5 lbs. of ground sirloin that the recipe calls for. I find that the "drippings" it makes gives it all the more flavor. I increase the spices by doubling or more (I do most measuring by sight and taste) and add more vegetables, so I add more water and sometimes throw in a can of tomato soup which makes it creamier. This can also be made with vegetable stock (or half veggie stock/half water) which increases the flavor evermore. It's good with broccoli or cauliflower added as well. And since we are a meat & potatoes household, we increase the potatoes to 4 or 5 medium. We often have this for dinner two nights in a row and have it for lunches or snacks as well. We have been making it often this winter and we haven't gotten tired of it yet. This is a wonderful recipe and I don't see how anyone could not like it. It makes ALL the difference in cutting fresh vegetables rather than using frozen. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I was looking for a recipe for vegetable soup to take to work for our soup and salad day. I came across this recipe and it sounded so good I just had to try it. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I've made it two more times since then and it always a hit. I made a few changes I use stew meat, beef broth, more potatoes, carrots, tomatoes and added green beans. Thanks so much for a great recipe I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Fantastic! We'll make this often! And yes, add leftovers if you have them - I had a beautiful prime rib for Christmas and froze the bones with some of the meat hanging on - I tossed the bones into beef stock (had to use up!) and simmered - then removed the bones, cut off a little meat and went on with the recipe. . .so freeze your steak bones and enjoy this wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Very good...when I doctored it up. Double the spices- very important. Also, I used beef stock, instead of water and I still used the bouillon. I also added about 1/4 cup of red wine and about 1 tsp of fresh dill, 2 tsp fresh parsley, and a pinch of red pepper flakes for full flavor. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
...File this one under "leftovers" because it is the perfect recipe for leftover steak.. I had 2 grilled sirloin steaks that had marinated in steak seasoning and cooked rare...cut them into small dice and added to the onion and garlic I had sauteed in butter. I pureed the tomatoes and added 4 cups of beef stock (Tone's Beef Base) instead of the 5 cups of water. I also used 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies (peas, corn, gr beans and carrots) since I needed my fresh veggies for a crudites..added a good size pinch of br sugar and after simmering for 45 mins I ended up with a really flavorful soup. Had this for lunch with french bread and salad.. I also ended up with enough to give to my neighbor who could tell I was cooking and happened to stop by...Thanks Priscilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Holy ! I don't even like vegetable beef stew and I couldn't stop eating this. made it as the recipe said and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This is a good hearty beef soup, I have not made this type of soup in a long time, but I wanted more vegetables and so I added fresh tomatoes, zucchini, lots of fresh basil and fresh thyme. Did not have beef bouillon so I added 2 tsps of bragg amino acids acting like soy sauce. My husband suffers from high blood pressure so I am trying really hard not to give him salt. It did not come out the way I thought it would, I like alot of salt, so this dish left me not too excited. It was me not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christaann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Of Spain, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
My family loves this recipe. My husband cannot get enough. I make it once sometimes twice a week in the winter. I use frozen bagged veggies (except onion and stewed tomatoes). VERY economical and easy. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELPH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was tasty, although I thought it could use some pasta or rice to help thicken it up a little. I used all beef broth instead of the water. Great on a cold day with some nice warm home made bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States