Vegetable Beef Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Wow, what a great, easy recipe! This soup had a really great flavor and was a big hit at our house. I added some fresh parsley during cooking and also added a cup of frozen green beans during the last ten minutes of cooking - great flavor. This is the perfect recipe to prepare on a cold, rainy day. You can also substitute uncooked rice for the potatoes - we've made it both ways and will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This was a HUGE hit in our house and it only took a few minutes. I doubled the recipe and have plenty in the freezer for leftovers. Thanks for what I know will be a big favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I love this soup. I don't use frozzen veggies but fresh ones. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I've been looking for a great beef minestrone soup and I found it! As some of the other reviewers, I chopped up sirloin steak in cubes and I also threw in a few macaroni shells which pleased my very picky 6 year old! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is a very good soup. Very flavorful and my whole family loves it. I often give extra to friends and they all love it as well. I make very little alterations to it. I rarely drain the meat because I use beef stew meat or a large sirloin steak cut up that's equal to or more than the 1.5 lbs. of ground sirloin that the recipe calls for. I find that the "drippings" it makes gives it all the more flavor. I increase the spices by doubling or more (I do most measuring by sight and taste) and add more vegetables, so I add more water and sometimes throw in a can of tomato soup which makes it creamier. This can also be made with vegetable stock (or half veggie stock/half water) which increases the flavor evermore. It's good with broccoli or cauliflower added as well. And since we are a meat & potatoes household, we increase the potatoes to 4 or 5 medium. We often have this for dinner two nights in a row and have it for lunches or snacks as well. We have been making it often this winter and we haven't gotten tired of it yet. This is a wonderful recipe and I don't see how anyone could not like it. It makes ALL the difference in cutting fresh vegetables rather than using frozen. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
a quick and easy recipe. loved it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Fantastic soup! This is exactly the recipe I was looking for to satisfy my vegetable beef soup craving. Tastes just like what I get at MiMi's Cafe. I used top sirloin steak, cubed, instead of the ground beef, and simmered with liquid and seasonings an hour and a half before adding the veggies. I also added diced zucchini. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
My family loves this recipe. My husband cannot get enough. I make it once sometimes twice a week in the winter. I use frozen bagged veggies (except onion and stewed tomatoes). VERY economical and easy. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELPH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I used different veggies that I had on hand and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
All my family loved it. especially my 18mos old daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States