Vegetable Beef Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This soup was fair. The flavor was a little shallow. I used a high quality beef broth in lieu of water and bouillon (which no doubt added flavor), and I added fresh kale and black-eyed peas. I believe this soup needs more spice. (I followed the receipe to the letter on the spice.) With all the good beef soup recipes out there, I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Great starter veggie soup. Added black, pinto and kidney beans. Also added more veggies and some cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Excellent perfect for a base recipe! I added some garlic to the meat and onions. I added frozen vegetables as well as spinach in addition to fresh celery and potatoes. It was a hit at my house! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
5 stars...great recipe that is consistantly good. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Definitely need to use canned beef broth instead of water. Instead of celery and carrots, I used frozen veggies and it turned out delicious! I also used ground beef instead of sirloin. A great basic recipes for your own favorite add-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
really easy to do and good taste! Yummy~ my boys don't like to eat celery but they finally finished all the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AIRNIKKI

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I used this recipe as a basis to use up the ingredients I had on hand so it was adapted to our tastes! Versatile recipe could adapt easily! I also used ground beef but it was not sirloin, however it was not greasy at all and I did not drain the grease. I added garlic toward the end of browning the beef, onion & carrot. I used a jar of homemade canned tomatoes, a small can of tomato sauce & reduced the water to 4cups & used 3 bouillion cubes (my family likes a bit thicker stoup but 2 cubes probably would've been enough), I didn't use celery and I used 2 idaho potatoes (one diced a bit smaller than the other for added thickness) and i only used a bay leaf (no thyme or basil). I did salt and pepper each layer. To add to the heartiness, I then added a 1/2 can of each: gr. beans, corn & right at the end, peas. We just finished eating and my family LOVED it! Its a quick recipe but tasted like I slaved away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_3_hungry_kids

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
A definite keeper! Here are the changes I made: I browned 1 lb. of ground turkey with approx. 1 cup of chopped onions and 1 tbsp of minced garlic and some powered beef flavoring for the meat, but this is very optional (essentially it's beef bullion in power form); 4 beef bullion cubes, 5 cups of water (which is equal to 4 cups of beef broth and 1 cup of water); added 1/4 cup red wine; used a little extra of all spices called for, inc. 2 bay leaves, as we like our soup extra flavorful. This turned out soooo great - we'll make it again and again for sure. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Great Recipe everyone love it.And in Florida it's hot but the soup was great, I can't believe they all love it,And I like to try other things as well.. So keep them coming...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Very good...when I doctored it up. Double the spices- very important. Also, I used beef stock, instead of water and I still used the bouillon. I also added about 1/4 cup of red wine and about 1 tsp of fresh dill, 2 tsp fresh parsley, and a pinch of red pepper flakes for full flavor. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States