Vegetable Beef Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Excellent perfect for a base recipe! I added some garlic to the meat and onions. I added frozen vegetables as well as spinach in addition to fresh celery and potatoes. It was a hit at my house! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
5 stars...great recipe that is consistantly good. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Definitely need to use canned beef broth instead of water. Instead of celery and carrots, I used frozen veggies and it turned out delicious! I also used ground beef instead of sirloin. A great basic recipes for your own favorite add-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
really easy to do and good taste! Yummy~ my boys don't like to eat celery but they finally finished all the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AIRNIKKI

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I used this recipe as a basis to use up the ingredients I had on hand so it was adapted to our tastes! Versatile recipe could adapt easily! I also used ground beef but it was not sirloin, however it was not greasy at all and I did not drain the grease. I added garlic toward the end of browning the beef, onion & carrot. I used a jar of homemade canned tomatoes, a small can of tomato sauce & reduced the water to 4cups & used 3 bouillion cubes (my family likes a bit thicker stoup but 2 cubes probably would've been enough), I didn't use celery and I used 2 idaho potatoes (one diced a bit smaller than the other for added thickness) and i only used a bay leaf (no thyme or basil). I did salt and pepper each layer. To add to the heartiness, I then added a 1/2 can of each: gr. beans, corn & right at the end, peas. We just finished eating and my family LOVED it! Its a quick recipe but tasted like I slaved away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_3_hungry_kids

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
A definite keeper! Here are the changes I made: I browned 1 lb. of ground turkey with approx. 1 cup of chopped onions and 1 tbsp of minced garlic and some powered beef flavoring for the meat, but this is very optional (essentially it's beef bullion in power form); 4 beef bullion cubes, 5 cups of water (which is equal to 4 cups of beef broth and 1 cup of water); added 1/4 cup red wine; used a little extra of all spices called for, inc. 2 bay leaves, as we like our soup extra flavorful. This turned out soooo great - we'll make it again and again for sure. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Great Recipe everyone love it.And in Florida it's hot but the soup was great, I can't believe they all love it,And I like to try other things as well.. So keep them coming...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Very good...when I doctored it up. Double the spices- very important. Also, I used beef stock, instead of water and I still used the bouillon. I also added about 1/4 cup of red wine and about 1 tsp of fresh dill, 2 tsp fresh parsley, and a pinch of red pepper flakes for full flavor. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was really good. I used beef broth instead of water and bullion, and I added lots of barley. Yumm Yumm, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly but when all was said and done, it tasted bland. I added some minced garlic, fresh dill, parsley, black pepper and smoked paprika. I also added one bag of frozen soup vegetables. It came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States