Vegetable Beef Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I followed the directions. Once made, I thought it made a great base, but I felt it needed a little doctoring. I added a bag of frozen mix veggies, another chopped carrot, another celery stalk, increased both the basil and thyme seasonings by another 1/4 tsp, added a sprinkle of onion powder, added a sprinkle of garlic powder, and added a couple of sprinkles of black pepper, plus a dash of hot sauce, and a little pinch of sugar to try and break up some of the acidity. It is a great base recipe that you can do a lot with to make it shine! Plus, it came out delicious! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vagriffs5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Easy to make with a great flavor. I couldn't use the 5 cups of water since my slow cooker would be over-flowing if I did. Instead, I just add all other ingredients and then fill with water to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l3ackl3ones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great soup. Didnt use meat, doubled the spices, and added extra carrots, potatoes, then corn and cabbage. Can do anything with this soup as a base. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
good basic recipe that i will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very good soup base recipe. I used 1 can stewed tomatoes, 1 can tomato soup [reviewers suggestion] & 1 can fire roasted tomatoes. 5 cups or maybe more of home made veg broth, 1 can [low sodium] ckn broth, 1/2 cup merlot, extra sauteed veggies, no potatoes [personal choice] garlic, Italian seasoning, 3 bay leaves, S & P & crushed red pepper flakes. Has always with soup, it always tastes better the next day. I wanted to add some barley but the cupboard was bare so I added a little cooked pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I took other's advise and used 5C beef broth (low sodium) instead of water. I also added a can of green beans (drained). I doubled the spices and still used the boullion cubes. Overall, very good! I would definitely make again but next time I think a little red wine would add a nice flavor as well! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Turned out wonderful. My family loved this soup. I posted a picture of my soup with grilled cheese on the side. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I changed this one quite a bit but the base was still quite good. I used flank steak chopped in small pieces instead of the ground sirloin, used beef base and beef stock instead of the bouillon and water, used barley instead of the celery and carrots and used one more potato. Everything else was pretty much the same, although I seasoned to taste versus adding the exact amounts. Made for 70 women at a retreat and was asked over and over for the recipe. My wife is still begging me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Super tasty! Instead of 5 cups of water I used 4 cups of beef broth and 1 cup of water. I added green beans and mushrooms and another potato. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Doubled the herbs and it was great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States