Vegetable Beef Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Yum. Will make again. Only change: I used 2 cups of original V8 juice and 2 cups of beef broth. Added 2 cups(cooked and drained)rotini pasta. So easy and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I liked this but I used V-8 juice instead of tomato juice. I might have liked it better with tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a wonderful v/beef soup. I did change it up a bit though. I used one large can of V8 and 2 cans of beef broth, instead of all tomato juice. I added some of my frozen tomatoes from the garden. I also added some onion, celery, and carrot that I first cooked a bit in some oil. Also added 2 tsp of beef bullion and a bit of red pepper flakes. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Best Veg Beef Soup ever! I changed just a bit... I used1 V8 (1 qt) and added 2 cans of beef broth and 1 red onion, diced. I used 1 tsp of each spice listed except no parsley. Should have used 2 tsp of salt though. I browned the meat in a little oil then added the onion, potatoes, veggies, broth and V8 and spices, and cooked for 2 hours. The meat was so tender and the flavor was out of this world! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I have been looking for a good, basic, simple homestyle Vegetable Beef Soup and this recipe is just that. I made only a few adjustments to suit my own taste, but all in all stayed pretty true to the recipe. I used V8 in place of half of the Tomato juice and Beef Stock in place of the other half. I also added Thyme in place of the Basil. Used a cut up Chuck Roast in place of the Stew Meat and added a chopped onion when browning the meat. Other than that stayed true to the recipe and the soup came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was a tasty soup. I used frozen chopped parsley and basil and kept everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was pretty good! It snowed 5 in today so this was pretty good on a day like today! I used V-8 instead of tomato juice, 16oz of Swanson Beef broth. I also added garlic powder and Lawry's Seasoning salt when I was browning the meat. Oh, and added 2 handfuls of elbow macaroni...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
A very good base recipe. I did sear the meat, and used V-8. Next time, I will add additional spices and more veggies to add some complexity - some red wine, worst sauce and maybe a packet of stew seasoning mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I scaled this back to 6 and it was more than enough for 3 adults and one 8 year old and the soup bowls were huge. Served it with Amish bread (this site recipe) still warm from the oven and it was a great meal; hearty, filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I added some cabbage to the recipe, it gave it some more body and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States