Vegetable Beef Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Yum. Will make again. Only change: I used 2 cups of original V8 juice and 2 cups of beef broth. Added 2 cups(cooked and drained)rotini pasta. So easy and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I liked this but I used V-8 juice instead of tomato juice. I might have liked it better with tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a wonderful v/beef soup. I did change it up a bit though. I used one large can of V8 and 2 cans of beef broth, instead of all tomato juice. I added some of my frozen tomatoes from the garden. I also added some onion, celery, and carrot that I first cooked a bit in some oil. Also added 2 tsp of beef bullion and a bit of red pepper flakes. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Best Veg Beef Soup ever! I changed just a bit... I used1 V8 (1 qt) and added 2 cans of beef broth and 1 red onion, diced. I used 1 tsp of each spice listed except no parsley. Should have used 2 tsp of salt though. I browned the meat in a little oil then added the onion, potatoes, veggies, broth and V8 and spices, and cooked for 2 hours. The meat was so tender and the flavor was out of this world! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I have been looking for a good, basic, simple homestyle Vegetable Beef Soup and this recipe is just that. I made only a few adjustments to suit my own taste, but all in all stayed pretty true to the recipe. I used V8 in place of half of the Tomato juice and Beef Stock in place of the other half. I also added Thyme in place of the Basil. Used a cut up Chuck Roast in place of the Stew Meat and added a chopped onion when browning the meat. Other than that stayed true to the recipe and the soup came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was a tasty soup. I used frozen chopped parsley and basil and kept everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was pretty good! It snowed 5 in today so this was pretty good on a day like today! I used V-8 instead of tomato juice, 16oz of Swanson Beef broth. I also added garlic powder and Lawry's Seasoning salt when I was browning the meat. Oh, and added 2 handfuls of elbow macaroni...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
A very good base recipe. I did sear the meat, and used V-8. Next time, I will add additional spices and more veggies to add some complexity - some red wine, worst sauce and maybe a packet of stew seasoning mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I scaled this back to 6 and it was more than enough for 3 adults and one 8 year old and the soup bowls were huge. Served it with Amish bread (this site recipe) still warm from the oven and it was a great meal; hearty, filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I added some cabbage to the recipe, it gave it some more body and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States