Vegan Taco Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was a major hit... Absolutely delicious.. Family licked their fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is a keeper. As often as I make chili, and despite this recipe using many of the same ingredients I tend to use, this tasted different! In a good, more flavorful way. Uses more tomato sauce than I usually do, for one. Also because I didn't have as much tomato sauce as the recipe calls for, I subbed a can of Rotel. Since I was using stuff with a little kick already, I didn't add any spices. My family enjoyed it over Fritos with shredded cheese and sour cream. (Ouch.) I had mine plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe did not disappoint! Added extra garlic, chili powder and cumin. Very hearty and love the texture of the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I loved this recipe. Just one question, where's the taco?? Anyway, this was easy, makes a lot and you can literally add or subtract ingredients to your liking. For example, I added one additional can of mexi corn and omitted mushrooms. Alo, I added a pk of mild chili seasoning mix. And 1 lb of Morningstar veggie crumbles, sautéed lightly first. Threw in crockpot, cooked for 90 minutes and done. Will be making another batch soon. This one is a keeper! Oh, and you can decide how the tacos fit in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Like the other comments, good base! Then I went to town with the jalapenos, red pepper flakes, garlic, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Being new to the vegan world, I still have the hankern' for meat on my palate when I eat chili. So, I used baby portobello mushrooms to "beef" up the flavor. I think that's what gave it an odd earthy taste on the first bite. However, that quickly fades as I ate more and more. And I couldn't stop shoveling it in because this chili recipe is so satisfying with following a few of the reviewers' suggestions. As it stands, it was too weak for our spicey-lovin' palates. So, we added cayenne pepper and chili powders AND tabasco sauce to taste (I heated these spices in a pan to allow the flavors to blossom before I added it to the chili). I also added about a 1/2 tbsp. cocoa powder and it did round out and blend the flavors quite nicely, but not where you'd say, "Did someone put cocoa in here?" I added about 2 c. each of homemade black beans and chickpeas to really thicken it up. I gave it only 4 stars though just because of that funky earthy taste right at the beginning. If you're not ready for it, it could cause you to not allow yourself to dig further into the pot. But keep going - it's worth it! So filling and delicious. Tastes great the following day(s) and freezes great. Daiya brand shredded cheddar was a great topper. (I refuse to use any other kind of vegan "cheese".) DELICIOUS - highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was okay. It tasted more like a spaghetti sauce than a chili and it didn't taste like taco flavors to me- and I even added taco seasoning. I guess it just wasn't our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
We liked it but we added a little more spice in terms of chili powder, red pepper and more garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZoeY36918

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I did add the following spices per another chili recipe: 1 tbl chili powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1tsp dried oregano, 1 tsp cocoa powder, 1/2 tsp red pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Great base recipe. In addition to the ingredients listed I added a can of chick peas and a can of black beans. Also, I added a 1/2 TBS of cumin, 1/2 TBS of crushed red pepper, 1 TBS of chili powder, 1 extra minced clove of garlic, 1 TSP of tobasco sauce, and substituted coriander for the parsley. I cooked in the crockpot on low for four hours. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States