Vegan Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by danakscully64
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I made this today and it was GREAT. I didn't have pine nuts, so I used walnuts instead. It's so simple to put together and tastes like it came from a gourmet restaurant. It definately isn't missing a thing, but if you insist on a parmesan style mix-in, nutritional yeast would work great, although I think it's perfect the way it is. I served it tossed with fettucini and slices of a homemade "French Baguette" (from this site). Also, it says it takes 30 minutes, but I had it made in less than 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danakscully64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Yum, the addition of sun-dried tomatoes makes for a very good pesto! I'm not vegan, so I used this pesto on pasta with added parmesan. I also added the zest and juice of a lemon (I like the taste of lemon with pesto). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Everyone loved this! Pesto is just so good, but the tomatoes made it even better. Did half pine nuts and half walnuts and just guessed at my measurements on the basil and tomatoes. It's a forgiving recipe (as long as you come somewhere close to the requested amounts); made a great spread for my herb bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riverstone-Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Yesterday was my first day trying out the vegan diet. I choose this recipe and love being a vegan thus far! I added a bit of parsley and used walnuts instead of pine nuts. It was delish! I will try to use roasted garlic next time, so the garlic breath doesn't last forever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I've been looking for a vegan pesto and this one is great. We all really enjoyed it. The only thing it needed was more salt and some freshly ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This pesto was so yummy!!! And extremely easy to make. I mixed the pesto with some whole wheat pasta, topped it with chopped parsley and toasted pine nuts....wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anuja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
This is also very good with walnuts instead of pine nuts - they blend really well with the rest of the flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
My family and I loved this recipe. The sun-dried tomatoes make this a unique and distinctive pesto. Plus, it's vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States