Vegan Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I really liked this pesto! The addition of the sundried tomatoes gave it a real boost in flavor. I had tried another pesto recipe that called for parmesan cheese and I found it a bit greasy. This one was perfect. I did decrease the garlic to one big clove and that was enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Great pesto recipe! Not a vegan, so I served it with cubed chicken, broccoli, rotini pasta with parm sprinkled on top. Delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeneml
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is delicious. I'm not vegan, but I chose this recipe because I had everything listed in the ingredients. I scaled it down to 1 serving since I don't know how well it would keep, and it was plenty (more than enough, actually!) for what I needed it for (Vegetarian Open Faced Sandwiches on here). I don't have a clue why this recipe says it takes 30 minutes; I was done in 5. I love the flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
It turned out great! I used about a cup of basil, more tomatoes and garlic and it was perfect for my kinda taste. Also, I didn't have any olive oil left, so I went for vegetable oil as a last minute alternative and it still worked :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
So fantastic and it couldn't be any easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was easy and excellent. My husband and two young boys loved this (to my surprise!). One of my sons is gluten, casein, and soy free, so this meal worked perfect for him. He actually asked when we could have it again. Made it exactly how recipe stated. It has a mild flavor, which worked well for us because of the kids. Will make extra next time for freezing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
A pretty good pesto recipe, but it was nothing special. I couldn't taste the tomatoes at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Loved it! So satisfying. Amount of basil (2 cups) confused me - packed or unpacked? So I "slightly" packed them, then decided it was too basily. I doubled tomatoes and garlic, and added a few more pine nuts, and it was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
We were having friends over who are vegans, and this was a hit both with them and for us. I added a couple of roasted red peppers since I ran out of the tomatoes, used walnuts in stead of pine nuts (on a budget here) and squeezed in a bit of lemon juice just for brightness. I mixed in some parm into the leftovers and that was yummy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I used raw almonds instead of pine nuts and toasted them. I did sprinkle a about a tablespoon of parmesean cheese in the end and squeezed some lemon juice on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States