Vegan Split Pea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This recipe was really easy to make, and it tasted great. My husband even loved it, and usually if it doesn't have meat or dairy he won't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very good. I'm not usually a fan of split peas. I prefer thicker soups, and plan to puree half the recipe next time. I'll try adding potatoes, too, but this is a good basic soup without changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Smells wonderful! Easy to make. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was a very tasty and filling recipe! It was also quite simple to make, although I did make some minor adjustments. I suggest soaking the split peas overnight (or for a minimun of two hours in hot water, if you're short on time). I also slightly reduced the amount of split peas used and, instead, included some finely chopped cabbage. Finally, when all the veggies were tender, I blended them for a creamier texture. Add a dash of black pepper and you're good to go! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vaughan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This soup has become a staple in our house. I double the curry because we love it and usually add a diced red potato. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
HOLY MOLY! This is the best recipe on this site!!! I add some cayenne because we like it a little spicier! Oh My, you must try this soup!! I make it with some smushy bread- it's so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I really love this recipe. I soak the peas overnight, then cook them for 1 hour before making the soup. I also add a 1/2 cup of barley. I used curry and added cumin as well. I thought it was much better the second day, so now I just make it in advance and it freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZANNE_STAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
VERY good. The cooking time is a little light -- an hour is closer. Also, unless you want the soup to be the consistency of mud, you'll need to add back about a cup of water during the course of cooking. I put this through a blender when it was finished, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This soup is easy to make and very satisfying. I added 3 bay leaves while it simmered and kept it covered the entire time. Curry is a nice choice of seasoning for split pea soup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Easy, inexpensive, delicious and healthy. Great leftover. I added garlic but it also tastes great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States