Vegan Split Pea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was a very tasty and filling recipe! It was also quite simple to make, although I did make some minor adjustments. I suggest soaking the split peas overnight (or for a minimun of two hours in hot water, if you're short on time). I also slightly reduced the amount of split peas used and, instead, included some finely chopped cabbage. Finally, when all the veggies were tender, I blended them for a creamier texture. Add a dash of black pepper and you're good to go! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vaughan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This recipe was really easy to make, and it tasted great. My husband even loved it, and usually if it doesn't have meat or dairy he won't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This was good, but I found it too salty. However, that may have been because I added frankfurters into the soup while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This soup has become a staple in our house. I double the curry because we love it and usually add a diced red potato. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
it was pretty good and easy to make - but it had to cook for a lot longer before the peas were actually mushy like we like it - and it was really watery - too much for me - i added some smoked sausage and that really helped with flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Really good! I added 2 small diced potatoes, like another reviewer, and also 4 cloves of garlic and 2 tsp Penzeys Sunny Paris seasoning. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Yum! And easy. However, I will double the recipe next time - it only served 2 at my house, with no leftovers. I also recommend soaking the peas for a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
My family did not like this soup at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Absolutely yummy! Hearty enough to be gobbled up by my two meat-loving menfolk and healthy enough for weight-conscious me. I doubled the recipe, added a couple diced redskinned potatoes, and dumped considerably more curry in it because we like things savory. Really, really good. Make sure to soak those yellow split peas either overnight, or boil them a couple minutes in six cups of water and let them sit for a couple hours. They take a really long time to soften up otherwise, and it's difficult to keep the rest of the soup from scorching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
HOLY MOLY! This is the best recipe on this site!!! I add some cayenne because we like it a little spicier! Oh My, you must try this soup!! I make it with some smushy bread- it's so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States