Vegan Split Pea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I found this soup to be delicious, but I added a Tbsp of curry powder and still found it to be quite subtle. I also pureed my soup to get a smoothish texture at the end, and soaked my split peas for about 3 hours before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I had to cook it alot longer...anothyer 1/2 hr to absorb more of the water. It never became really thick,or perhapsI don't know what really thick was meant to be. Peas were still a little textured to my taste. I was afraid to overcook. It was ok, but then I decided to put it in a blender. mmmmmm yummmee that was.much better IMHO. Ate the wholething myself for dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sail4evr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was delicious, simple to make, healthy. What more could you ask for? I served with steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
i just finished making this soup. i followed the directions but i left out the celery as i didnt have any. but i added another cup of peas (i only had frozen peas). After cooking it for about 50 minutes i tasted it and i was very dissapointed with the taste. i blended it and added some milk and cooked it a bit more but yet it tasted awful. i will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skaleezay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsfwills
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is the BEST split pea recipe I have ever found! I omitted the carrots (only because I didn't have any on hand) added garlic and used green split peas. Was not watery at all and I did not need to soak my beans at all. OMG it's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsfwills

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is a delicious recipe and is perfect for a snowy winter day! I took the suggestions from other posts and soaked the peas, added cumin, potatoes and extra curry. I also added a tsp of fresh garlic and ground black pepper. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very easy, yummy, filling and best of all - FAST! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Not a bad recipe. Tasted great and everyone liked it. Used green split peas but otherwise followed it exactly. Liked the curry, but it still needed some seasoning. Added pepper, onion powder and garlic powder for more flavor. Will make again with the added seasoning. LOVE the idea that it is a tasty...vegetarian...split pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Tasted really good...I added some diced red potatoes and minced garlic. It took longer than 50 minutes for the peas to soften (maybe close to 2 hours), even though I soaked them for 3 hours beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have any celery on hand but I didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States