Vegan Split Pea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was a very tasty and filling recipe! It was also quite simple to make, although I did make some minor adjustments. I suggest soaking the split peas overnight (or for a minimun of two hours in hot water, if you're short on time). I also slightly reduced the amount of split peas used and, instead, included some finely chopped cabbage. Finally, when all the veggies were tender, I blended them for a creamier texture. Add a dash of black pepper and you're good to go! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vaughan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I really love this recipe. I soak the peas overnight, then cook them for 1 hour before making the soup. I also add a 1/2 cup of barley. I used curry and added cumin as well. I thought it was much better the second day, so now I just make it in advance and it freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZANNE_STAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Absolutely yummy! Hearty enough to be gobbled up by my two meat-loving menfolk and healthy enough for weight-conscious me. I doubled the recipe, added a couple diced redskinned potatoes, and dumped considerably more curry in it because we like things savory. Really, really good. Make sure to soak those yellow split peas either overnight, or boil them a couple minutes in six cups of water and let them sit for a couple hours. They take a really long time to soften up otherwise, and it's difficult to keep the rest of the soup from scorching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was the best split pea soup I have ever made. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using green split peas instead of yellow. When the soup was done, I put half of it in a blender, pureed it and mixed it back into the rest of the soup to make it thicker. The recipe says it makes 6 servings but I ate almost half of it for lunch today. It was so good I kept going back to the pot for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This soup has become a staple in our house. I double the curry because we love it and usually add a diced red potato. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used green split peas instead of yellow ones, and I soaked them overnight as other users had suggested. I also doubled the recipe. Otherwise I followed it exactly, but it turned out very bland and WAY too watery. I am not sure if the kind of split peas make a difference, but I would definitely suggest seasoning this more, and using probably 1/2 to 2/3 the amount of water it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
HOLY MOLY! This is the best recipe on this site!!! I add some cayenne because we like it a little spicier! Oh My, you must try this soup!! I make it with some smushy bread- it's so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Yum! And easy. However, I will double the recipe next time - it only served 2 at my house, with no leftovers. I also recommend soaking the peas for a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Really good! I added 2 small diced potatoes, like another reviewer, and also 4 cloves of garlic and 2 tsp Penzeys Sunny Paris seasoning. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very easy, inexpensive and healthy! I wanted leftovers for the week so doubled all the ingredients and used my slow cooker. I sauteed the carrot, celery and onion as directed then combined with peas, water, curry, water in slow cooker. Set on high for five hours - no need to soak the peas beforehand! Also, used red thai curry paste instead of powder, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States