Vegan Split Pea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have any celery on hand but I didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Easy, inexpensive, delicious and healthy. Great leftover. I added garlic but it also tastes great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was a pretty simple but great dish. I love spicy things so I added a few splashes of hot sauce. Very good and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This soup is easy to make and very satisfying. I added 3 bay leaves while it simmered and kept it covered the entire time. Curry is a nice choice of seasoning for split pea soup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
VERY good. The cooking time is a little light -- an hour is closer. Also, unless you want the soup to be the consistency of mud, you'll need to add back about a cup of water during the course of cooking. I put this through a blender when it was finished, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very good. I'm not usually a fan of split peas. I prefer thicker soups, and plan to puree half the recipe next time. I'll try adding potatoes, too, but this is a good basic soup without changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Smells wonderful! Easy to make. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used green split peas instead of yellow ones, and I soaked them overnight as other users had suggested. I also doubled the recipe. Otherwise I followed it exactly, but it turned out very bland and WAY too watery. I am not sure if the kind of split peas make a difference, but I would definitely suggest seasoning this more, and using probably 1/2 to 2/3 the amount of water it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This needed a lot more spice than the recipe calls for. I also had trouble getting the peas to cook to the very soft consistency I wanted and I had even cooked them a bit beforehand. I pureed it in the blender in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I really love this recipe. I soak the peas overnight, then cook them for 1 hour before making the soup. I also add a 1/2 cup of barley. I used curry and added cumin as well. I thought it was much better the second day, so now I just make it in advance and it freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZANNE_STAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States