Vegan Split Pea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Not a bad recipe. Tasted great and everyone liked it. Used green split peas but otherwise followed it exactly. Liked the curry, but it still needed some seasoning. Added pepper, onion powder and garlic powder for more flavor. Will make again with the added seasoning. LOVE the idea that it is a tasty...vegetarian...split pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Tasted really good...I added some diced red potatoes and minced garlic. It took longer than 50 minutes for the peas to soften (maybe close to 2 hours), even though I soaked them for 3 hours beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have any celery on hand but I didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Easy, inexpensive, delicious and healthy. Great leftover. I added garlic but it also tastes great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was a pretty simple but great dish. I love spicy things so I added a few splashes of hot sauce. Very good and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This soup is easy to make and very satisfying. I added 3 bay leaves while it simmered and kept it covered the entire time. Curry is a nice choice of seasoning for split pea soup. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
VERY good. The cooking time is a little light -- an hour is closer. Also, unless you want the soup to be the consistency of mud, you'll need to add back about a cup of water during the course of cooking. I put this through a blender when it was finished, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Hagadorn
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very good. I'm not usually a fan of split peas. I prefer thicker soups, and plan to puree half the recipe next time. I'll try adding potatoes, too, but this is a good basic soup without changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Smells wonderful! Easy to make. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used green split peas instead of yellow ones, and I soaked them overnight as other users had suggested. I also doubled the recipe. Otherwise I followed it exactly, but it turned out very bland and WAY too watery. I am not sure if the kind of split peas make a difference, but I would definitely suggest seasoning this more, and using probably 1/2 to 2/3 the amount of water it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States