Vegan Split Pea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Not bad at all. The thickness was just right. The only problem I had was it was a bit bland. My son added more salt to his and thought it was way better so I tried that too and I have to agree. I am not much of a salt eater but it sure brought out the flavor just by adding a bit more and it didn't taste salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was the best split pea soup I have ever made. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using green split peas instead of yellow. When the soup was done, I put half of it in a blender, pureed it and mixed it back into the rest of the soup to make it thicker. The recipe says it makes 6 servings but I ate almost half of it for lunch today. It was so good I kept going back to the pot for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
loved it! i made it for st patty's day. i added cabbage to it and it was delish! i used more seasonings; curry, cumin, and some dried herbs. i also used half green split peas. put in the crock pot and WALA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very simple but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very easy, inexpensive and healthy! I wanted leftovers for the week so doubled all the ingredients and used my slow cooker. I sauteed the carrot, celery and onion as directed then combined with peas, water, curry, water in slow cooker. Set on high for five hours - no need to soak the peas beforehand! Also, used red thai curry paste instead of powder, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made this soup when I was fasting and it was great. Very easy and my friends also loved it. I will make this soup over and over. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I gave it 5 stars because it's so good. However, the color of it does not make people want to eat it. I had to coax them...but once they did taste it, they cleaned their bowlsl. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I really liked the soup. I varied the recpe slightly by adding tomatoes, bean sprouts, and bell peppers. I also added some scotch bonet peppers for a kick. However, the cooking takes a lot longer then 45 min with all of my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I really liked this, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Super yummy! I used green split peas and added some new potatoes. Also added more curry and salt but I like a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States