Vegan Split Pea Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I used green split peas because that's all I had, but it's a wonderful soup and even meat lovers love this (and don't miss the ham!). It's a quick and easy soup too. I do however suggest doubling it if it's to be a main course soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Awesome recipe! Very easy to make. I soaked green peas over night, peeled and diced a brown potato, and upped the spices a tad (based on the previous reviews), oh and I added a teaspoon of marjoram and 2 cloves of chopped garlic. I used my emersion blender to thinken it up a little, making sure I left some potatoes so it didn't feel like eating baby food. HUGE HIT! Absolutely going to make this again. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Family Favorite. I used frozen mirepoix recipe from Kroger. Same great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Goodall

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Great recipe!!! I added two teaspoons of curry instead of one and a little cayenne pepper. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very tasty. I used green split peas instead of yellow because I couldn't find any at the store and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Excellent! I used this recipe as a base and made some minor adjustments. I did not use carrots or celery but instead sauteed peppers, onions, and garlic with the curry, which I nearly doubled. I cut back a little bit on the water and added more if needed. Towards the end of simmering I added a bunch of fresh kale. I also didn't simmer it until the peas were completely liquid. Absolutely delicious and the kale adds some extra vitamins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
good but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Wonderful, flavorful soup, easy to make for a filling, vegetarian entree. I did sub chicken broth for the water this time, but it is fabulous either way. Since I love curry, I doubled, and added some minced garlic. (I add garlic to everything). As others suggested, you may want to increase the cooking time if you don't presoak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was extremely easy to make and tasty. I am at a high altitude and needed to cook over an hour, and add more water. As a main course it is about three servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Great soup even for a meat lover, you won't even miss the ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States