Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2001
I cannot praise this recipe enough! The finished product has a delicious, hearty texture, and wonderful flavor! I brought the peas and barley to a boil as the recipe directs, but then put it into the slow cooker - adding the vegetables three hours or so later. It took nearly a day to complete (they don't call it a slow cooker for nothing), but it turned into a simply marvelous stew. It's amazing how healthy it is as well! It has an abundance of fiber and protein, and a good dose of veggies. It simply blows the old starchy condensed split pea soup away. Thanks for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
This soup was really great! It was so thick that it was more of a stew than a soup. My son brought me a thermos and begged to have it in his school lunch the next day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Very yummy - I substituted vegetable bouillon for the salt and it gave it a lovely flavor. Good food and good for you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
This is the third time I've attempted vegetarian split pea and this is the best. I didn't miss the ham in this recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
I usually don't like split pea soup but this was the best! Its very good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Although this recipe takes a little more than three hours from start to finish, I found the prep itself both quick and easy. And the results were delicious! My parents LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
THIS IS VERY GOOD, ESPECIALLY AS A LEFTOVER. MY 12 YEAR OLD SON HAD SECONDS, BUT MY 3 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WOULDN'T TOUCH IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
This was a very easy recipe and only took 1/2 the time to cook. My family loved it and they are extremely picky. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
My family of 6 loves this soup. It is great and very cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Good split pea soup recipe. I added some veggie boullion (spelling?). Very filling, sticks to your bones! Good to make in the fall/winter. I made mine in the slow cooker so while I was at work it cooked. I added a little water to it when I got home and it was smooth and yummy! I ended up freezing some since it makes a LOT. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingForDummies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States