Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Crockpot variation: Put all ingredients into crockpot (no need to cook onions first, and oil can be omitted). Add 2 additional cups of water/broth and cook on high 2 1/2 hours (can be kept warm on low setting after that, with occasional stirring). More flavor: Use vegetable broth instead of water. Double all spices except for salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This is a great recipe. That being said, I'll mention a few things I did differntly. First of all, I soaked the peas in water for about 8 hours prior to cooking. I omitted the barley, and I substituted olive oil for vegetable oil. I sauteed the onion, celery and (3) bay leaves together. I also omitted the potatoes, and put all of the herbs in the pot with the peas and 8 c. water, rather than waiting until the peas had cooked 2 hours. The only ingredient I added after cooking for 2 hours was the carrots. After adding them and another cup of water, I let the soup simmer about 1 more hour. It's really a delicious, hearty soup. I didn't find it to be too thick, possibly because I soaked the peas first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
When she says it makes a thick soup, she isn't kidding! I love thick soup but this was ridiculously thick, too thick to be soup. All 7 1/2 cups of the water was used up and the solid then started to burn the bottom of the pan. I added 4 more cups of water, which turned out to be PERFECT, so I'd definitely recommend using a total of 11 1/2 cups water for anyone making this soup! The taste was delicious, and I blended abotu half the soup for a better consistency, but either way it tastes fine, just depends on your preference. I only used one potato cause that's all I had around the house but it was still good. Definitely one of the best soup recipes I've tasted! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Love it. I just put all of the ingredients in the crock pot without pre-cooking anything. I do use more water than it calls for, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was, without a doubt, the best pea soup I have ever made and loaded with nutrition. One problem - my carrots were not done and the soup was so thick that it was in jeopardy of burning. Next time I may add them earlier or steam them separately. And please don't leave out the barley!! You would not want to miss that good nutrition. I also had to add at least 4 cups extra of liquid. I used part broth and part water. If you like pea soup, do try this good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I LOVE this recipe! I make a double batch of this soup for my friends when they have new babies, some of my friends can't wait to give birth so they can get some more from me! Here are a few of my alterations-I ommit the celery, use a few cups of chicken broth in place of a bit of water, and add the spices after the first boil so the flavor can grow and infuse as it cooks. Also, I start the soup first thing in the morning so that it simmers for 8-10 hours before supper. It really is a great recipe and it freezes well for a couple of months. Thanks Deborah for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Dunbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Mmmmmm...use this recipe!!! This was my first time making split pea soup and I am glad I chose this recipe. I followed the advice of some other reviewers and added a lot of extra water (about 3-5 more cups), and this soup still came out nice and thick. Also, although this soup has a wonderful flavor when made as instructed, I am not a big fan of parsley, so next time I will not use as much. I think I will also skip the potato next time so the split pea flavor is not compromised. All in all, this is a GREAT recipe...just tweek it a bit here and there to make it yours. I recommend serving split pea soup with croutons and a few (or many) splashes of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Good split pea soup recipe. I added some veggie boullion (spelling?). Very filling, sticks to your bones! Good to make in the fall/winter. I made mine in the slow cooker so while I was at work it cooked. I added a little water to it when I got home and it was smooth and yummy! I ended up freezing some since it makes a LOT. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingForDummies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Although this is not as flavorful as pea soup made with a ham bone, it is a tasty recipe. Since so many reviewers recommended adding more water, I used 12 cups of water and doubled the spices. This worked out well. However, next time I will not add the barley. That is what thickens this soup. If you make it without the barley, it will not be so thick. If you do find it needs to be thickened when it is done, you can always add some instant mashed potatoes flakes. That will thicken it up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I love this soup! I've now made it for the second time.. Basically, I stick to the recipe. The first time I added chopped ham and this time I put in some "fresh pork hocks." Of course, I add extra garlic to everything. My Husband likes thinner soup so I added extra water in the beginning and some chicken broth after I knew how thick it was. It makes such a hearty meal with a salad and bread. I'm sure it would be just as tasty without the meat. I'll definitely be making this often. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States