Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Needs more salt, but other than that I really liked this recipe. I used to use a ham bone to season my soup, but I much prefer this healthier option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Wow, so tasty and filling. I left out barley (made it gluten free) and potato (didn't have on hand) it worked out perfectly and I don't think I would add potato next time. I liked the full pea flavor. Only other change was I used Italian seasoning in place of the dried seasonings called for. I imulsified partially to leave a slight chunkyness. I will definetly make again and again. So inexpensive and easy. Mine didn't take as long as recipe called for. Upon sitting it thickened up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE4KYLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Very delicious. We are not vegetarian, so I used chicken broth instead of the water and salt. Added about an additional 3/4 teaspoon of salt and a sprinkle of cayenne. I didn't use barley and forgot to add the parsley, but didn't miss it. Also added some turkey kielbasa. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This was quite good; I did miss the ham I would usually put in split pea soup, but it was still very rich and filling with good flavor without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Used all ingredients except for barley and instead of fresh parsley I used dried. I just threw it all in the crock pot on high. It cooked in about 4 hours. The only thing I added was Bragg's liquid aminos. It was wonderful! The herbs were just right! Thanks for a very yummy recipe! Even my picky eaters liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I'm not vegan, but I ADORE this split pea recipe! Nice to have a split pea recipe that doesn't need meat, just in case I've run out of meat. But I didn't feel that this recipe needed it. was very fulfilling and lively on the tongue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very filling! I halved this soup, both bc I only had a cup of split peas and because it's just two of us. I kept the spices as directed for a full recipe, though, and am glad I did. I put this in the crock pot all day. I had it on high for about 4 hours, then changed it to low for the last six. I added two more cups of water and vegetable bullion to this. Hubs liked it but thought that it needed chicken. Since this is a vegan recipe, I'm amused, but I suppose since we aren't vegan it doesn't matter for us. I added leftover chicken to our leftovers of this soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great recipe, but requires a few tweaks. As many have mentioned, using the water amount recommended makes the soup incredibly thick. Most will definitely want to add more water, but what is important to remember is if you are going to add more water, you will have more soup, and some of the key ingredients adding to the flavor, such garlic, salt, onion, parsley get watered down as well. So keep in mind you will probably want to use more of all these ingredients, especially the garlic. I'd recommend at least double the 3 cloves they recommend, and even 10 or more doesn't seem to overdo it. I did not think it required more celery, carrots or potato...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this soup today. I did not use barley or potatoes because i did not have them in my home. But I can say that this vegan soup is AWESOME!!!! I love it!!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best split pea soup I've ever had! I did add more water as it was needed - but it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States