Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made this for 30 people on Good Friday luncheon, everyone was surprised it was vegan, don't need any ham or bacon, the flavor is so good! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecelia Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Madras, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is WONDERFUL! My family really enjoyed this soup. I did find that it needed twice the amount of herbs, as another reviewer suggested, to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this using red lentils instead of split peas. It was good still but the lentils did not have as much flavor as the peas would have, because of that, I did season my bowl with some curry powder and Sriacha and it was pretty good that way. The kids liked it as it was made with no additional seasonings. I cooked it in the slow cooker for about 3 1/2 hours on high. I just threw everything in at once. I will make this again with peas or lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Delicious! Based on the reviews, I added about 4 cups more of water in the beginning, as well as the carrots, celery and I doubled seasonings. Added diced potatoes in the last 45 minutes (or so) of cooking. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Tastes OK, a little bland. I ended up adding an extra 1.5 cups of water and it was still too think, like smashed potatoes vs. a thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. My friends and family loved this soup. I did take out the celery. Instead of the salt I used Goya's veggie seasoning and a tablespoon of curry. I must agree with the others that the soup is a thick Super thick but very tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Great soup, especially the texture -- I did add more liquid, as suggested. I skipped parsley just cause i didn't have any, and I added a generous pour of balsamic vinegar at the end, because it felt like a flavor was missing (who knows, maybe it was the parsley!). That did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This soup is excellent!! I will make it again for sure. After reading other comments I made this in the crockpot. I followed the recipe exactly except I used 8 cups of vegetable broth instead of water. I also did not put potatoes or parsley in my soup. It was fabulous! You can't beat a great vegan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Needs more salt, but other than that I really liked this recipe. I used to use a ham bone to season my soup, but I much prefer this healthier option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Wow, so tasty and filling. I left out barley (made it gluten free) and potato (didn't have on hand) it worked out perfectly and I don't think I would add potato next time. I liked the full pea flavor. Only other change was I used Italian seasoning in place of the dried seasonings called for. I imulsified partially to leave a slight chunkyness. I will definetly make again and again. So inexpensive and easy. Mine didn't take as long as recipe called for. Upon sitting it thickened up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE4KYLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States