Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I only used one stalk of celery. My husband and I thought this tasted like beef stew without the beef! It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Loved loved loved this soup!! Changed the recipe a bit, used more garlic, added veggie boullion cubes and 2 cups sliced mushrooms and fresh spinach. Hubby loved it and had NO IDEA he was eating so many veggies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Tasty! I made this in the crockpot, so added additional water. Used chicken boullion, threw in some chardonnay, upped the garlic. Will make again and again! I love how filling this is whils also being truly healthy and nutritious. A great meal for the cooler months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is not a soup; it is a paste. I got scared early on, and added one cup of water. I will not do that next time. Some is going to burn to the bottom, but the extra soak time when you wash dishes is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
very good, and the barley was an excellent addition. I suppose it makes a thick soup, but i've always preferred it when it comes to pea soup. This is the best pea soup i've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I did not like this soup at all - the flavor was strange - perhaps too much onion or celery??? However, my super picky toddlers ate it all up and my husband thought it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was good - I agree with one reviewer who said that the barley doesn't mesh well texture-wise with the rest of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I have this cooking in my crockpot and my whole apt smells wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Loved this! I threw everything in the crock pot, omitted oil, and added 2 extra cups of water and a chicken boullion cube. Cooked on high for 4 hours, and then low for 4 more hours. It's fantastic! I've made it once a week for the past 3 weeks, frozen some, and probably eaten a bowl at least once per day. On Weight Watchers, 1 cup is 4 points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Probably the best split pea soup I've had. I used a pressure cooker and cut down on the time to cook it. Still turned out great. I added some crushed red peppers for spice and added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States