Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Our whole family loved this soup! I was a little hesitant, since our kids are pretty young, but really, everyone enjoyed it - I prefer this over the typical style recipe with meat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. I altered a few things, based upon what other reviewers have written. I used olive oil to saute the onions, celery, and bay leaves (I used three). Then I added the peas, water, and the spices. I ended up using about 12 cups of water total. I simmered this for about 2 hours, and then added the carrots. Within 20 minutes, the carrots were cooked through! (I didn't have barley or potatoes, so I left those things out.) I garnished with some green onion slices, and I am now eating some of the best soup I've had in a long time. Great recipe Deborah!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
A couple of tips that might help folks, based upon what I see in the reviews: This is an excellent recipe -- and you don't have to be vegan to love it! Notes on prep: Split peas, like lentils, do not need to soak overnight. In fact, they do not need to soak at all. Doing so will seriously affect the texture of the soup. Carrots won't cook till soft? Years ago I learned the trick of getting a beautiful looking pea soup -- coarsely grate the carrots. They cook in a wink, and those little flecks of orange with the green peas make for a great presentation. Happy cooking, and thank you Deborah Sah for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David and Krista
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Cooked in Crock pot like we had done with other split pea soups. Found this one to be a bit dry tasting. I would recommend blending about half of the soup in a blender or food processor. We did add the extra water as some others had suggested (12 cups total). In the future I would add more garlic. We like to also put some Tabasco sauce when served, a few drops seems to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David and Krista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
mmmm - the house smells sooo good! Fixed this one with cilantro instead of parsley, added some mushrooms (I love mushrooms). It's yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious! I am not a meat eater, so I used veggie bacon and it turned out terrific - still had that wonderful smoky flavor. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I have never had split pea soup before so I don't know what to compare it to, but this is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and I didn't have any trouble with the amount of water/thickness. I did add another tsp of salt because I found it a little bland. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I had some dried split peas on hand, and I feared that I wouldn't be able to find a flavorful split pea soup recipe. This one convinced me that it's possible! It was great and full of flavor. I'm not a vegan, though, so I used homemade chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiedidbug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Definitely use 12 cups of water from the beginning or else the soup will be too thick, and in danger of burning. Even with the 12 cups, you will need to stir occasionally, or the bottom may burn. I made this for a friend and didn't think I would like it, but this recipe is absolutely delicious, and I've already made it twice in 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I eliminated the barley, added curry,cumin, leeks, and liquid smoke. I also used half water and half vegetable broth and kept the lid on to eliminate liquid evaporation. I also soaked the peas for a few hours which expedited the cooking process and made for a soup that was "self pureeed".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States