Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Really good-the best I've had. It is sorta like Amy's canned split pea and California Pizza Kitchens- but way better! I didn't even miss the ham. I only have one suggestion. Save the black pepper for right before you eat it and use 3-4 turns of freshly ground black pepper. Also, it doesn't say to cover when simmering, but that made it super moist. I froze the remainder of mine in 2 cup servings and it heated up great. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This recipe is great and so simple. I've made it many times, following the recipe exactly (well, almost exactly - I usually omit the salt and add salt to taste once it's in my bowl). Try it! You'll like :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This soup turned out great. I substituted a few things because of what I had on hand. I was out of barley so I replaced it with a 1/2 cup of Trader Joe's harvest grains blend (couscous,orzo,baby garbanzo beans and red quinoa) and added about 8 small baby red potatoes. Also replaced half the water with vegetable stock and added just a touch od red pepper flakes. We were out of celery so it didn't make it into the soup. The consistency was perfect and it was well liked. We will definitely make this again and will also prepare the original way, which I'm sure is wonderful. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIEPOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Full of flavor! Great soup to make and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe. Never had a desire to eat split pea anything but then found out how much fiber split peas have. My family and friends that aren't vegan loved it as well. :) THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Delicious and easy. It took only 2 hours from start to serving. Everyone took 2nds including our 1 year old granddaughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I added several cups of extra water, used parsnips instead of potatoes, left out the barley and put in all the seasonings at the beginning. SO GOOD! I think next time I won't simmer it for so long. It turned into green mush, and I prefer to see the shape of the peas a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This soup is plain ole' good. I chose to leave out the barley and potatoes, and doubled the thyme and basil. I wish I had made a double batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
delish. would have gotten 5 stars but i added more liquid (3 cups vegetable broth) and doubled the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States