Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Made this last night and it turned out wonderfully! It did not take nearly as long as the recepie states thought, which was a nice surprise. I subed veg. broth for the water which added nice flavor. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
SO GOOD! The best Split Pea Soup I've tasted, very hearty and filling. I modified slightly: left out the barley, used 8 cups of veg broth (more flavor - I like Better Than Bullion) and only used one potato. I've made this twice now, and experimented with consistency. It's good on the chunky side (half blended, half not), but I prefer a pretty smooth texture, so think I'll blend 100% from now on. Keeps well, makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I am anything but a Vegan but I made this and it was awesome. I added extra garlic. I think next time I will cut the veggies smaller. It is better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon-Mikel Bailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this today and it is wonderful. I am only going to give it 4 stars because I did make a change. I added Goya's ham flavoring which really gave it that smoky flavor but NO real ham. I will try without next time, but this was really delicious. I am sure great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very nice soup, but wow, "very thick" doesn't even begin to describe it! I added maybe double the water and it still came out almost solid. Tasty and easy to make though! I used sweet potato instead of regular potato because that was what I had. Otherwise kept it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
very good, I added lot's of carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a great healthy dish. I halved the recipe, omitted the vegetable oil, and used dried parsley equivalent (1 tsp dried herb = 1 tbs fresh). Finally, I threw all of the ingredients into a slow cooker and cooked at low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I have made this a million times and it always sticks to the bottom of the pan and slightly burns the bottom of the pan. Other recipes don't say to cook for a total of 3 hours. Am I missing something? Its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yum. This is a 4 and not a 5 because a couple changes had to be made. Like the other reviewers, I added about 12-13 cups of water to the pot, rather than the 7 1/2 cups. I also had to increase the salt and pepper to taste, and added a couple dashes of red chili pepper flakes. After these minor adjustments, the soup was absolutely perfect for a cool fall afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very good recipe. It's quite thick, though, almost like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States