Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yum. This is a 4 and not a 5 because a couple changes had to be made. Like the other reviewers, I added about 12-13 cups of water to the pot, rather than the 7 1/2 cups. I also had to increase the salt and pepper to taste, and added a couple dashes of red chili pepper flakes. After these minor adjustments, the soup was absolutely perfect for a cool fall afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very good recipe. It's quite thick, though, almost like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I used 4 cups of broth & 4 cups of water; doubled all the spices and used fresh herbs instead of dried, added tbsp. of crushed red pepper, paprika since I love spice. I also used marrow fat peas instead of split peas since that what I had on hand and simmered everything for 4.5-5 hours. I also added red pepper & doubled the carrots. It was hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Excellent soup! I followed the receipe except did not have barley. I added a little cumin seed sauted with the onion and garlic. And added fresh basil, tarragon from my garden. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I boiled the soup for well over the recommended 3 hours and still had some chewy peas. Overall, the recipe was tasty, but did lack that ham flavor that most split pea soups possess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This has come out so delicious each time I make it, although I tweak a few things. First of all, I don't typically have barley lying around, so skip that. Use olive oil instead of veg oil. Vegetable broth instead of water. I think that adds a little more flavor. And dried parsley instead of fresh, which comes out fine. This soup is amazing and especially yummy leftover, although it's so thick that you really need to add quite a bit of water when reheating or you'll have more of a split pea porridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I love this soup! I added too much barley and it dried up like a lake in the desert but some vegetable broth smoothed it right out (I'll measure more carefully next time!). This is fantastic, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Recipe is great! I ended up using an additional 2 cups of water during the last hour to thin it out a bit. I added the spices when i first sauteed the onions and then added more spice to it when it started cooking. I probably tripled the spices all together. A very hearty and healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. I cut the cooking time by an hour by throwing in the carrots, potatoes, and celery at the hour and a half mark. At that time I also added 3 extra cups of water. I finished it off by adding a lot of black pepper. Spectacular!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Really good-the best I've had. It is sorta like Amy's canned split pea and California Pizza Kitchens- but way better! I didn't even miss the ham. I only have one suggestion. Save the black pepper for right before you eat it and use 3-4 turns of freshly ground black pepper. Also, it doesn't say to cover when simmering, but that made it super moist. I froze the remainder of mine in 2 cup servings and it heated up great. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States