Vegan Split Pea Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I love that it not only tastes lovely but that its super healthy too. I have made this about 4 times, following the same exact recipe. Perfect soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delicious flavor! I halved the recipe but used almost the full amount of water and added a vegetable bouillion cube. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Probably the best split pea soup I have ever made! SO tasty! I substituted vegetable broth for the water, and left out the potatoes. I also added the carrots, celery, parsley and spices after sauteeing the onions & garlic. It is a very thick soup, so I added water from time to time during cooking to keep it the consistency we like. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great soup! We all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Delicious and easy to make. I followed the advise to speed cook the peas by putting in the crock pot on high for 2 hrs. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I adore this soup. I'm neither vegan or vegetarian, but this is so good. Sometimes I use broth instead of water, sometimes I omit the celery, and I've added broccoli to it as well. It's excellent every time! I always have to add more liquid, as it really is very thick - more like chowder than soup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is such a good alternative to the real thing. I used one vegetable broth bouillon to ensure it ended up with enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Delicious! Seriously hearty soup. After reading reviews, I omitted the potatoes and parsley, and also added the carrots/celery at the beginning, with the onions. I ended up using 5 cups of veggie broth and 5 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I love all the natural ingredients in this recipe and the inclusion of Barley. Though I was very thrown off by the reviews as many people stated that the soup turned out too thick. I followed one review that said to throw everything in a crock pot and cook on high for 3 hours. I did just that-3 hours later the peas were still crunchy...I used dried split peas. I then added 3 more hours and the peas never softened up. I was very disappointed. I now have the soup in an actual pot where it has been cooking for 2 MORE hours and the peas are still not soft. I think next time I will just stick with the original instructions to use a big pot and simmer on the stove. Other than that, I am really impressed with the overall flavor, and I am sure when the peas are cooked, it will taste even better! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
SOOOOOO GOOD! I did add extra water (3 1/2 cups). I have also made it when I didn't have barley and just substituted with 1/2 cup split peas and it's still delish. If you aren't vegan or veggie I might recommend adding crumbled chicken sausage for additional flavor (it doesn't need it, but my boyfriend sure loves it this way!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States